Stream Bloc Party’s New Album ‘Hymns’ Here

Bloc Party return with new album ‘Hymns’ on January 29, and ahead of its release you can listen to it right here.

Bloc Party are one of the finest British bands to emerge from the noughties indie explosion. Debut ‘Silent Alarm’ is still a touchstone, and each subsequent release has explored fascinating new territory. They’re back this year with a brand-new lineup, and their first 11 shows after their album release will be as NME Awards Tour 2016 headliners, with support from Derbyshire trio Drenge, grime MC Bugzy Malone and Essex newcomer Rat Boy.

Frontman Kele Okereke and guitarist Russell Lissack are still here, but bassist Gordon Moakes has been replaced with Menomena’s Justin Harris, and following drummer Matt Tong’s departure, the band looked on YouTube and found 21-year-old drumming pro Louise Bartle instead. “It feels like a new band,” Kele told NME in November. “The chemistry and energy are different. It feels like the spirit is the same, but it’s in a new host.”

Following the reveal of lead single ‘The Love Within’ a lot of people thought the band were getting properly synthy, but Russell tweeted, “I’m a big fan of synths but I didn’t play any on this record. Pushing my pedal board to the limit!” There’s a lot more where that came from – have a listen below.