Stream Okkervil River’s New Album ‘I Am Very Far’

There are many words to describe Austin, Texas band Okkervil River – but we’re going to have to go with prolific. Not only have they just completed their sixth album, ‘I Am Very Far’ (which is now ready to pre-order before its Jagjaguwar release date of May 9th), but they’ve been busy contributing to other pieces of music you’ve probably heard.


Frontman Will Sheff contributed vocals to The New Pornographers’ album ‘Together’, he wrote a song for Norah Jones’ ‘The Fall’ and he produced an album for Brooklyn band Bird Of Youth, amongst other projects.

But we’ll let Sheff introduce this album to you: “The goal was to push my brain to places it didn’t want to go. The idea was to not have any idea – to keep myself confused about what I was doing. I produced it myself so that I could extend the songwriting process all the way through to the very last second of recording, so the songs would never really stop changing.”

It’s an album that’s been described to us as “terrifying”, “violent”, “serene”, “romantic”, “grotesque”, “disorienting”, “threatening” and “friendly”. Any record that can capture all of those emotions in 11 tracks is absolutely worth a listen. Stream the entire thing below now, exclusively on


‘I Am Very Far’ Tracklisting:
1. The Valley
2. Piratess
3. Rider
4. Lay Of The Survivor
5. White Shadow Waltz
6. We Need A Myth
7. Hanging From A Hit
8. Show Yourself
9. Your Past Life Is A Blast
10. Wake And Be Fine
11. The Rise