Thom Yorke, Burial And Four Tet – Stream ‘EGO’ And ‘Mirror’ Now

As previously reported, Radiohead’s Thom Yorke is releasing a new single with dubstep man Burial and folktronic artist Four Tet, and the two tracks, ‘EGO’ and ‘Mirror’, surfaced online today.

Thom Yorke

The trio are no strangers to one another; Burial and Four Tet released their secret EP ‘Moth’ and B-Side ‘Wolf Cub’ in 2009 on Text Records while Hedben has previously remixed Yorke’s ‘Atoms For Peace’ solo song.

‘EGO’ is a cohesive balance, as Yorke’s shadowy vocals float cautiously above the swelling sounds of Burial and Four Tet’s beautifully synthetic partnership with a haunting ease. Layered over a throbbing minimal pulse Yorke monotonously hollers “I can’t make this any clearer, I can’t make this any simpler”, whilst Hedben and Bevan maintain a textured and heady complexity. A delicate fluttering piano breaks the hypnotic trance of Burial’s beats with elegance and confusion as though you’ve risen fresh from a tortured night’s sleep.

The second track, ‘Mirror’, progresses with a more prominent beat punctuated by interjections of soft and ominous falsetto vocals spread unevenly throughout. “This is where we came in, so we go back again”, Yorke’s repeatedly murmurs to only intensify the ethereal resonance.

What do you think of the tracks?

Radiohead’s ‘The King Of Limbs’ – First Listen

Four Tet Remixes – Free MP3s

More on Thom Yorke