Transgressive Records Is Five – Free MP3s from Graham Coxon, Metronomy, Young Knives And More

We love small labels that tirelessly and selflessly promote new music, making it up as they go along and making questionable decisions from a profit perspective with demented fervour (blood-splattered vinyl, VHS format releases and so on). We love it even more when they succeed against the odds and stick it to the cash cow-raping majors. So it’s with great joy that we’re helping Transgressive celebrate their fifth birthday this month.

To celebrate a half decade in the business the London-based label is putting on three shows in the capital: The Young Knives, Esser and Ox.Eagle.Lion.Man at Heaven on Sept 24th, Foals, So So Modern and Two Door Cinema Club also at Heaven on the 25th and Johnny Flynn, and Jeremy Warmsley, Mechanical Bride and Dan Michaelson & The Coastguards on the 26th at Union Chapel.

They’ve also given us a free mini-album featuring Liam Finn, Esser and Graham Coxon.

Graham Coxon

These five tracks are a mix of classic Transgressive moments and some excellent remixes, including The Young Knives twisted out of all proportion by Metronomy and Esser re-edited by The Very Best.

Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson

Download Liam Finn‘s Plane Crash here

Download Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson‘s Woodfriend here

Download Graham Coxon‘s Sorrow’s Army here

Download Metronomy‘s remix of Hot Summer here

Download The Very Best Club remix of Work It Out here

(Right click and chose ‘save as’ if necessary. Please link-to don’t re-host)
[Subscribe to The Daily Download]

Get your tickets to the Transgressive anniversary shows here.