Caribou announces new Daphni album ‘Cherry’ and shares “buoyant” single, ‘Cloudy’

It's Dan Snaith's first new album under his Daphni moniker in five years

Caribou has announced a new album called ‘Cherry’ under his Daphni moniker – listen to the track ‘Cloudy’ below.

The Canadian producer/electronic artist (real name Dan Snaith) shared the title track from the upcoming project last month, marking Daphni’s first new music since 2019’s ‘Sizzlin”. The latter cut will not feature on the 14-track ‘Cherry’.

Speaking of the almost-seven-minute-long ‘Cloudy’, Snaith explained:” The essence of this one is keeping it aloft – like occasionally nudging a balloon that’s only just heavier than air to keep it afloat.


“For something so buoyant, I’m surprised how much it bangs in a club.”

You can watch the lo-fi animated official video for the song below:

‘Cherry’ is set for release on October 7. You can pre-order/pre-save it from here.

Other song titles to be featured include ‘Arrow’, ‘Always There’, ‘Arp Blocks’, ‘Take Two’ and ‘Fly Away’ – check out the cover artwork and full tracklist below.

01 ‘Arrow’
02 ‘Cherry’
03 ‘Always There’
04 ‘Crimson’
05 ‘Arp Blocks’
06 ‘Falling’
07 ‘Mania’
08 ‘Take Two’
09 ‘Mona’
10 ‘Clavicle’
11 ‘Cloudy’
12 ‘Karplus’
13 ‘Amber’
14 ‘Fly Away’


The official cover artwork for Daphni's upcoming new album 'Cherry'
Daphni – ‘Cherry’ official cover artwork. CREDIT: Press

The third and most recent Daphni album, ‘Joli Mai’, came out in 2017. It served as Snaith’s ninth full-length effort overall, with Caribou’s latest record ‘Suddenly’ following in early 2020.

Last summer saw Caribou return with a new single, ‘You Can Do It’, which was accompanied by a wholesome, dog-filled video.

Dan Snaith performed as Caribou at last weekend’s Glastonbury Festival. He played in the slot immediately before Roisin Murphy‘s headline set on the West Holts Stage on Saturday (June 25).

You May Like