Clara Benin releases “healing and cathartic” new EP ‘Fragments’

It features an alternate version of 'Wine', featuring Singapore's Charlie Lim

Filipino indie singer-songwriter Clara Benin has released her new EP ‘Fragments’.

Benin announced the release on Instagram with a handwritten tracklist a week ago. The EP comprises five tracks: ‘fragments’, ‘Sweet Nothings’, ‘Araw’t Gabi’, and two versions of her previous single ‘Wine’, with one featuring Singaporean singer-songwriter Charlie Lim.

“These songs all came from different seasons of my life, so putting them and reimagining them all together in one record has been very healing and cathartic,” Benin wrote on Instagram today. “Now all yours to behold & slow dance to!⁣”


Stream the EP here:

Benin had given ‘Araw’t Gabi’ an official release in October. Originally released in 2014, the song was written and recorded for the official soundtrack for Jay Abello’s indie film Red. Sung entirely in Filipino, ‘Araw’t Gabi’ was produced by Fran ‘theRingmaster’ Lorenzo, who also has credits on ‘Wine’.

Benin had earlier described the almost five-minute song as an “acoustic ballad that depicts the cinematic contrast of the beginning and end of young love.”

In May, the singer released the single ‘It’s Okay’, followed by a newly-recorded version of ‘Wine’, an old fan favourite.

Last October, the artist also released her second EP ‘I Rose Up Slowly’, a follow-up to the 2015 debut ‘Riverchild’. Her debut album, ‘Human Eyes’, arrived in 2014.


In January, Benin won the Wishclusive Contemporary Folk Performance Of The Year award for ‘I Rose Up Slowly’ at the 5th Wish Music Awards, hosted by Manila radio station Wish 107.5.

You May Like