Deftones announce ‘White Pony’ remix album ‘Black Stallion’, share Purity Ring ‘Knife Prty’ remix

Robert Smith, Mike Shinoda, Squarepusher, DJ Shadow and more feature on the album's tracklist

Deftones have officially confirmed the release of their highly-anticipated ‘White Pony’ 20th anniversary reissue and accompanying remix album ‘Black Stallion’, also sharing its first track.

Set for release on December 11 alongside the reissue, ‘Black Stallion’ will feature remixes of ‘White Pony’ tracks by the likes of The Cure‘s Robert Smith, Linkin Park‘s Mike Shinoda, Clams Casino, Squarepusher and more. See the full tracklist below. Pre-orders are available now.

To coincide with the announcement, the band have shared a remix of album track ‘Knife Prty’ courtesy of Purity Ring.


The electronic duo’s take on the track swaps out the searing distortion and frenetic drums of the original, but it’s no less menacing – haunting, glitchy synths providing the new rendition’s backbone. Listen below:

The ‘Black Stallion’ album has been on the cards for some time now. In May, the band suggested a 20th-anniversary re-issue of ‘White Pony’ could arrive this year. After being confirmed in June, Deftones said the special edition would include a remixed version of the LP.

Prior to the album being officially announced, it was revealed DJ Shadow has been enlisted for the project.

“We’d talk about the record before we’d done anything and say, ‘Our new record is going to be so good that we’re going to have DJ Shadow remix it’ and we’ll call it ‘Black Stallion’,” drummer Abe Cunningham told NME.

“I was DJing and opening for him before me and Chino cornered him at The Cattle Club [in Sacremento].


“We were like, ‘We want you to remix our record!’ He looked at us like we were crazy and said, ‘Send it to me and I’ll listen’.

“We told him, ‘We haven’t actually written or recorded it yet…’ It was batshit crazy of us, but what’s more crazy is that now he is part of it.”

Deftones released their latest album, ‘Ohms’, in September. The album was given a five-star review from NME upon its release, which described the tracks as “filthy metal anthems packing serious emotional clout”.

The tracklist of ‘Black Stallion’ is:

  1. ‘Feiticeira’ (Clams Casino remix)
  2. ‘Digital Bath’ (DJ Shadow remix)
  3. ‘Elite’ (Blanck Mass remix)
  4. ‘Rx Queen’ (Salva remix)
  5. ‘Street Carp’ (Phantogram remix)
  6. ‘Teenager’ (Robert Smith remix)
  7. ‘Knife Prty’ (Purity Ring remix)
  8. ‘Korea’ (Trevor Jackson remix)
  9. ‘Passenger’ (Mike Shinoda remix)
  10. ‘Change (In the House of Flies)’ (Tourist remix)
  11. ‘Pink Maggit’ (Squarepusher remix)

You May Like