Gloc-9, Zild Benitez, Ben&Ben, SB19 win big at sixth Wish Music Awards

A total of 70 acts were nominated across 20 categories this year – including Quarantine-Produced Song.

Filipino artists Gloc-9, Zild Benitez, Ben&Ben and SB19 have emerged as some the winners of this year’s Wish Music Awards, hosted by radio station Wish FM 107.5.

The sixth annual award ceremony, which took place last night (January 17), was live-streamed on the Wish YouTube channel and broadcasted from the Smart-Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City.

Under ongoing pandemic guidelines, the venue hosted a limited number of people, including nominees who opted to physically attend the event as well as record label reps, hosts, performers and organisers. Those who attended the awards were subjected to swab tests and complied with strict health protocols prior to the event.


Hosted by singer Christian Bautista and TV personality Gretchen Ho, the awards saw performances by KZ Tandingan, Gloc-9, duo Leanne & Naara, SB19, rock band Parokya Ni Edgar and more.

A total of 70 acts were nominated across 20 categories this year including Artist Of The Year, Group Of The Year, and, notably, Quarantine-Produced Song.

Rapper Gloc-9, pop group SB19 and IV Of Spades member Zild were among the night’s biggest winners, taking home the awards for Artist, Group, and Breakout Artist Of The Year respectively.

Other notable winners include Ben&Ben for Contemporary Folk Performance, former IV of Spades frontman Unique Salonga for Rock/Alternative Performance and The Juans for Best Quarantine-Produced song.

The winning artists each received Php 25,000, and an additional Php 100,000 was individually given to charity organisations chosen by the winning acts.

The winners were decided through a mixed panel of judges (70 percent) and online votes (30 percent), with Wish 107.5 receiving a record-breaking 3.9 million votes from the public through its website and mobile app. Public voting closed on January 15.


See the winners and nominees of key categories below, and check out the complete list of winners here.

The winners of the sixth Wish Music Awards are:

Pop Performance of the Year:
The Juans – ‘Hindi Tayo Pwede’ (Winner)
Inigo Pascual – ‘Balang Araw’
SB19 – ‘Alab’
TJ Monterde – ‘Puhon’

Ballad Performance of the Year:
Darren Espanto – ‘Sasagipin Kita’ (Winner)
Jay Kent – ‘Mahal Pa Rin’
John Roa – ‘Oks Lang’
Juris – ‘Di Lang Ikaw’

Performance of the Year:
Winner: Skusta Clee – ‘Zebbiana’ (Winner)
Jay R – ‘No Pressure’
Kiana V – ‘Hide My Love’
Kris Lawrence – ‘Anong Gusto Mo’

Rock/Alternative Performance of the Year:
Unique Salonga – ‘Sino’ (Winner)
I Belong To The Zoo – ‘Balita’
Mayonnaise – ‘Pahirapan’
Moonstar88 – ‘Naantala’

Hip-hop Performance of the Year:
Michael Pacquiao – ‘Hate’ (Winner)
Kiyo – ‘Nandito Na’
Konflick (ft. Ron Henley) – ‘Maskara’
Pricetagg (ft. Gloc-9 & JP Bacallan) – ‘Pahina’

Contemporary R&B Performance of the Year:
Julie Anne San Jose – ‘Nobela’ (Winner)
GIBBS – ‘No Hearts’
Paolo Sandejas – ‘Sorry’
the vowels they orbit – ‘Kiliti’

Contemporary Folk Performance of the Year:
Ben&Ben – ‘Araw-Araw’ (Winner)
Clara Benin – ‘It’s Okay’
Keiko Necesario – ‘Right Next To You’
syd hartha – ‘paruparo’

Wish Pop Song of the Year:
SB19 – ‘Love Goes’ (Winner)
Rico Blanco – ‘Happy Feelin”
ena mori – ‘Safe Zone’
The Juans – ‘Sirang Plaka’

Best Quarantine-Produced Song:
The Juans – ‘Manalangin’ (Winner)
Moira Dela Torre, Jason Marvin – ‘May Pag-asa’
The Itchyworms – ‘The Silence’
Rico Blanco – ‘This Too Shall Pass’

Wish Breakthrough Artist of the Year:
Zild (Winner)
Michael Pacquiao
the vowels they orbit

Wish Group of the Year:
SB19 (Winner)
The Itchyworms
The Juans

Wish Artist of the Year:
Gloc-9 (Winner)
Clara Benin
Inigo Pascual
Rico Blanco

You May Like