Phum Viphurit, Margosa and Yung Kai join Sunbear Festival Phase 2 lineup

Boy Pablo, No Good, Lunadira, Ramengvrl, Sekumpulan Orang Gila and more have already been announced

Thai singer-songwriter Phum Viphurit has joined the phase 2 lineup for Sunbear Festival’s second phase.

Viphurit joins alt-pop trio Margosa, rappers Yung Kai, Guccimith & Zhe Kamil and Brunei pop-punk act Secret Signal in the latest wave of additions to the second phase lineup, which began with the addition of Indonesian singer-songwriter Danilla Riyadi.



The acts will join previously announced headliners Reality Club at this December’s Sunbear Festival in Sarawak, which has already announced Boy PabloNo Good, Lunadira, RamengvrlSekumpulan Orang Gila and more as part of its phase 1 lineup. The festival will be held at the MBKS Community Hall Carpark in Kuching, Sarawak this December 9.

Other acts that have been previously announced include rapper Airliftz, blackened death metal act Purbawara, Singaporean math rock trio Forests and ska punk group Plague Of Happiness, as well as Bornean indie rockers Nicestupidplayground among others.

Tickets are now on sale via LiveInKCH. Early bird passes are now available at MYR180 for daily passes and MYR330 for a two-day pass, and early entry passes are available at MYR160 for daily entry and MYR300 for a two-day pass. Group packages are also available for five-person groups starting at MYR750.

Get your tickets here.

Margosa’s last release came in the form of their 2020 album ‘The Phase’, which included their previous singles ‘Luka Baru’ and ‘Abadi Tak Semestinya Indah’. The song ‘Penawar’ from the album would lead the group to be crowned winners of the inaugural Anugerah Lagu Indie (ALI2020) awards held in October 2020, beating out a field of 12 other contestants including Nusarasa’s ‘Mesra’ and Orkes A Hizadin’s song ‘Menunggu’.


Brunei pop-punk band Secret Signal started in 2016 as a three-piece band, citing Blink 182, Green Day, Neck Deep and also Simple Plan as their main influences. The group have released four singles so far in 2017’s ‘Where The Heroes At’, 2018’s ‘Far From Over’ and ‘If It Wasn’t For You (You and I)’, and 2021’s ‘Home/We Cannot Win’.

Sarawakian rapper Yung Kai last released his NYK collaboration ‘Show Me’ in June last year. The Ban Huat Sdn. Bhd rapper also released ‘Save The Night’, a trilingual collab with B-Heart and Izhar, in April that year. He also released a four-track EP in 2020 entitled ‘柔陷阱’ (‘Tender Trap’).

Guccimith & Zhe Kamil released their latest collaborative single ‘Kroni’ in August, adding to the list of collaborations the duo have released since 2020. The duo previously released ‘Stay Away’ in April 2020 and ‘SAYBOK’ in April 2021.

Phum Viphurit recently announced that his sophomore LP ‘The Greng Jai Piece’ will be out later this year, though no further information has been released so far. The Thai singer also dropped the album’s first single ‘The Healing House’ in his July announcement.

Viphurit has explained that the single is “one of the stories from my echo chamber head, roaming there for the past 2 years,” and follows similarly deep and confessional guest spots earlier this year on the singles ‘Pills’ with US-based Hong Kong artist Thomas Ng and ’25’ with Thai instrumental jazz-funk duo The Photo Sticker Machine.

Riyadi released her third full-length album ‘Pop Seblay’ earlier this year in February. Her first full-length album of original material in five years, the record included previously singles such as ‘MPV’ and ‘KIW’. In May 2021, the singer-songwriter dropped the 80s-inspired album, ‘Peluh, Gairah & Kelana’, under the band alias of Danilla and The Glamors. The record featured eight disco remakes of tracks from Riyadi’s discography.

Reality Club most recently released the music video for their latest single, ‘Anything You Want’, which also marks the second preview of their upcoming third album, ‘Reality Club Presents…’. Last October, Reality Club released the single ‘Tell Me I’m Wrong’, which was recorded with the 46-member Budapest Scoring Orchestra.

In 2020, the band released the three-track EP ‘The Rush And Other Vices’, which featured two new takes on the song ‘The Rush’ from their 2019 album ‘What Do You Really Know?’.

Boy Pablo – who will be playing on the first day of the event – was announced in the first wave of performers for the festival alongside Malaysian acts No Good and Lunadira. The Chilean-Norwegian indie-pop artist will be making stops in the Philippines, Thailand and Indonesia on his 2022 Asia tour, which includes an appearance at Thailand’s Very Festival in November, alongside a line-up including Keshi, ADOY and pH-1.

Indonesian rapper Ramengvrl recently teamed up with Singapore’s Yung Raja for an “ode to Asia” titled ‘Ming Ling’. “There’s a lot of Asian references lyrically and Yung Raja brings so much spice to the track,” Ramengvrl said in a press statement, adding that “while the mission of “Asian representation” might seem like it’s been done before, there are still areas that have received less exposure than the others.”

The Sunbear Festival 2022 lineup so far is: 

Day 1 (December 9)

Boy Pablo
Plague Of Happiness

Sovth China Sea
Danilla Riyadi

Day 2 (December 10)

Sekumpulan Orang Gila
No Good
Reality Club

You May Like