Watch Liars’ music video for ‘Sekwar’, first single from new album ‘The Apple Drop’

The first new music from Angus Andrew since 2018

Liars, now effectively the solo project of founding vocalist Angus Andrew, have shared a new single called ‘Sekwar’.

The track was premiered on Marc Riley’s BBC Radio 6 show late on May 4, where the presenter announced it would appear on a new Liars album entitled ‘The Apple Drop’. The record will be released on August 6 via Mute – find the album cover and tracklist below and pre-order the album here.

It marks the first new music from Andrew as Liars since 2018’s ‘Titles With The Word Fountain’, a record packaged as a double album with 2017’s ‘TFCF’.


The new track departs from the abstract, unmoored instrumentals of those records, moving with a pulsating synth bass and scratchy, descending guitar lines. In the claustrophobic music video for ‘Sekwar’, directed by Clemens Habicht, a determined Andrew crawls through a tunnel, emerging into a majestic cave structure. Watch it below.

For 10th album ‘The Apple Drop’, Andrew worked with drummer Laurence Pike, multi-instrumentalist Cameron Deyell and lyricist Mary Pearson Andrew. “For the first time I embraced collaboration from an early stage,” Andrew said in a press statement, “allowing the work of others to influence the work of my own.”

“Throughout Liars’ history I have consistently tried to develop new methods of creating music,” he added. “On each project I’ve essentially abandoned previous methods and attempted to instead learn different ways of writing and producing songs. Where once I perceived this journey as a straight line, I’m increasingly realising my trajectory is more akin to a spiral. As new ideas are generated, older ones take on new meaning and evolve further.”

The other founding members of Liars, Julian Gross and Aaron Hemphill, left in 2014 and 2017 respectively. The last record to feature permanent members other than Andrew was 2014’s ‘Mess’.

While promoting ‘TFCF’ and ‘Titles With The Word Fountain’, Andrew wore a wedding dress as a metaphor for the dissolution of the original group, telling Spin, “I felt like for my whole career I’ve been married to my bandmates, and this is the point that I no longer was.”


Andrew recently appeared on Xiu Xiu‘s 2021 single ‘Rumpus Room’.

Liars Angus Andrew 2021 album The Apple Drop

The tracklist of Liars’ ‘The Apple Drop’ is:

  1. ‘The Start’
  2. ‘Slow And Turn Inward’
  3. ‘Sekwar’
  4. ‘Big Appetite’
  5. ‘From What The Never Was’
  6. ‘Star Search’
  7. ‘My Pulse To Ponder’
  8. ‘Leisure War’
  9. ‘King Of The Crooks’
  10. ‘Acid Crop’
  11. ‘New Planets New Undoings’

You May Also Like




More Stories