Malaysia’s MC Syze drops first full-length album, ‘Syze Does Matter’

14 tracks in total, including the single 'Selamba' featuring Joe Flizzow

Malaysian rapper MC Syze has dropped his first full album ‘Syze Does Matter’.

Out today (January 21), the album follows the rapper’s journey as he navigates life in the Brickfields neighbourhood of Kuala Lumpur. Consisting of 14 tracks, ‘Syze Does Matter’ includes the singles ‘Selamba’ with Joe Flizzow and ‘ATCL (A Thing Called Love)’, both of which were released in 2020.

Besides Flizzow, ‘Syze Does Matter’ features a number of collaborations. SonaOne supplied a bassline for opening track ‘Closer to Me’, while ‘Sala Salapu’ features Malaysian Tamil rapper Psychomantra. The latter song will receive a music video, animated and created by Chennai-based Kensmen Film Squad.


Singaporean producer Fauxe also appears on the record, singing on ‘It Ain’t Over’ (which was originally released in 2019) and supplying a remix of Syze’s 2008 debut single ‘Dancin”, which is the album’s bonus track and titled ‘Dancin’ Refix’.

In an Instagram post announcing the release, Syze quotes lyrics from album cut ‘Here To Stay’: “It did feel once like a dead end job / Or like a dead end road / That’ll never lead me up top / Like shooting in the dark, no hope for hip-hop / Ignored those thoughts and still I never stopped”.


‘Syze Does Matter’ is also the first project of Trigger Happy Records, an independent label founded by MC Syze after 16 years in the music industry. Stream the album below.


In 2018, MC Syze returned to music after a decade-long break by releasing a remake of ‘Dancin’. ‘It Ain’t Over’ followed in 2019.

MC Syze – real name Ashish Rajahser – has opened for Kanye West, Missy Elliott, Nas and The Roots during their concerts in Malaysia. He is also known for his feature on R&B group VE’s song ‘Message Girl’ from their 2005 album ‘For You’.