Subsonic Eye announce new EP ‘Melt the Wax’

The EP is a “brief resting point” before a full-length and marks their debut release on US indie label Topshelf Records

Singaporean indie outfit Subsonic Eye are set to make their comeback with the brand-new EP called ‘Melt the Wax’, out on November 17.

The band announced the forthcoming digital release on their Bandcamp page, now available for pre-order. The EP is composed of three tracks – ‘Please Remember’, ‘Aquarius’ and ‘Hurt Your Head’ – and is said to be a “brief resting point” prior to a full-length album. The indie-pop anthems will circle around vocalist Nur Wahidah’s upbringing, laced with the band’s snappy and invigorating sound.

Subsonic Eye’s first release of the year, ‘Melt the Wax’ will be released on US indie label Topshelf Records – which signed fellow Singaporean indie band Sobs to its roster for new album ‘Air Guitar’, which was released last week.


Topshelf Records has shared a preview of the song ‘Hurt Your Head’ – check it out below.

‘Melt the Wax’ follows Subsonic Eye’s mini album ‘Dijangka / Matahari’ and their third studio record ‘Nature Of Things’, which clinched the top spot in NME’s 25 best Asian albums of 2021 list.

On top of ‘Melt the Wax’, Subsonic Eye have also announced a short tour of Japan this December. They will play two dates in Tokyo and one in Osaka, two alongside dreampop band For Tracy Hyde. See those dates below:

In September, they embarked on a Southeast Asia weekender tour, with stops in Indonesia, Malaysia and the Philippines. The band also returned to Singapore last month to open for South Korean band Say Sue Me.


In July, the band performed three unreleased singles during their second KEXP live session appearance – ‘Bug In Spring’, ‘Yearning’ and ‘J-O-B’. The quintet also revealed that the songs will be part of their new album.