Taiwanese math rockers Elephant Gym announce new album, ‘Dreams’

The trio's third album, which features a collaboration with 9m88, is out in May

Taiwanese math rock three-piece Elephant Gym have announced their upcoming third studio album, ‘Dreams’ – find the album art and tracklist below.

The trio took to social media to tease the news on Wednesday (March 16), unveiling details the day after. The album, out May 11, is now available for pre-order via US indie Topshelf Records.

The 12-track album features collaborations with Taiwanese pop artist 9m88 (‘Shadow’) and Hakka singer-songwriter Lin Sheng Xiang (‘Dream Of You’). The Kaohsiung City Wind Orchestra and Chio Tian Folk Drums and Art Troupe are also credited on ‘Wings’ and ‘Deities’ Party’ respectively.


‘Wings’ previously appeared on the 2021 Elephant Gym EP ‘Crack of Dawn’ that was released exclusively for Japanese listeners. The three other tracks on that project – ‘Dear Humans’, the toe-sampling ‘Go Through The Night’ and the bass instrumental ‘Dreamlike’ – also appear on ‘Dreams’.

The record also includes an “album version” of 2019 one-off ‘Gaze At Blue’. See the full tracklist below.

Besides announcing the album, Elephant Gym have also unveiled a “psychological test” on their website that was based on the 12 Jungian archetypes and developed to match the songs on the record. Hear snippets of ‘Dreams’ by taking the test, which resembles a choose-your-own-adventure game, here.

Yesterday Elephant Gym performed at the SXSW festival in Austin, Texas. The trio most recently released a cover of Emil Wakin Chau’s 2001 hit ‘Any Song Reminds You of Me?’ as part of Rock Records’ 40th anniversary celebrations in early December.

The band released their debut EP ‘Balance’ in 2013, followed by their debut album ‘Angle’ in 2014. In 2016, they released the ‘Work’ EP, with their sophomore album ‘Underwater’ coming in October 2018.


Elephant Gym Dreams album
The album art of Elephant Gym’s third album ‘Dreams’

The tracklist for Elephant Gym’s third album ‘Dreams’ is:

  1. ‘Anima’
  2. ‘Go Through The Night’
  3. ‘Shadow’ featuring 9m88
  4. ‘Witches’
  5. ‘Dreamlike’
  6. ‘Wings’ featuring Kaohsiung City Wind Orchestra
  7. ‘Happy But Sad’
  8. ‘Deities’ Party’ featuring Chio Tian Folk Drums And Art Troupe
  9. ‘Dear Humans’ (JP Version)
  10. ‘Gaze At Blue’ (Album Version)
  11. ‘Fable’
  12. ‘Dream Of You’ featuring Lin Sheng Xiang