‘Kelly Gang’ composer Jed Kurzel, Amanda Brown among 2020 Screen Music Awards winners

Plus Matteo Zingales (for 'Machine') and Luke Howard ('The Sand That Ate the Sea')

The winners of this year’s Screen Music Awards were announced through a virtual event yesterday (December 1) – the ceremony’s first time going online, due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Composer Jed Kurzel won Feature Film Score of the Year for his work on True History of the Kelly Gang, which was directed by his brother, Justin Kurzel, and released in Australia on Stan earlier this year.

The composer (and former Mess Hall frontman) has previously won the award for his work on the films Snowtown and Slow West.


“It’s a genuine honour,” Kurzel said during his acceptance speech from the UK.

Former Go-Betweens member Amanda Brown won Best Music For a TV Series or Serial for her work on Network Ten psychological drama The Secrets She Keeps. Her win arrives just days after Brown won Best Original Score in a Documentary at this year’s AACTA Awards for her work on Brazen Hussies.

Other winners at this year’s SMAs included Matteo Zingales, who took home Best Music for a Documentary for his work on AI doco Machine. Luke Howard won Best Music for a Short Film for composing the score to the Matthew Thorne-directed The Sand That Ate the Sea.

You can see the full list of winners here.