Baker Boy announces forthcoming debut album ‘Gela’

He's marked the occasion with a new single featuring G Flip, titled 'My Mind'

Yolngu rapper Baker Boy has announced that his long-awaited debut album ‘Gela’ is finally on its way, marking the occasion with a new single.

The track, titled ‘My Mind’, is a collaboration with Melbourne’s G Flip that the pair teased on social media earlier this week. The feel-good cut brings together vibey synths and G Flip’s – AKA Georgia Flipo’s – pop vocals, married with Baker Boy’s signature punchy rap.

Check it out below:


Speaking of the track in a press statement, Baker Boy – AKA Danzal Baker – said “working with G Flip was a real privilege.”

“We’ve known each other for a while through touring, but it was mad to see them in their element in the studio.”

Flipo added: “I’ve always been a big fan of Danzal.”

“We met up at the studio sometime in 2019 and ‘My Mind’ was written in a day, it’s a song about appreciating the beautiful women in our lives.”

The single serves as the fifth taste of the forthcoming record, with other previous releases ‘Move’, ‘Cool As Hell’, ‘Ride’ featuring Yirrmal and ‘Meditjin’ with JessB also on the tracklist.


Other collaborators set to appear on the album include Thando, Jerome Farah, Uncle Jack Charles and Lara Andallo, with notable co-writers such as Dallas Woods, Rob Amoruso and more.

“Gela is more than just the music, it is my experience of living in duality as a Yolngu Man and as the Fresh Prince of Arnhem Land as Baker Boy,” Baker shared on social media, along with the album’s cover art.

“This idea, Gela, Baker Boy, Fresh Prince of Arnhem Land, Me has been visually bought to life in a way I could have never imagined by @adnate”.

“This is my voice, my vision, for now.”

‘Gela’ will arrive on Friday October 15.

Baker Boy’s ‘Gela’ tracklist:

1. ‘Announcing The Journey’ (performed by Glen Gurruwiwi)
2. ‘
Survive’ feat. Uncle Jack Charles
3. ‘My Mind’ feat. G Flip
4. ‘Ride’ feat. Yirrmal
5. ‘Butterflies’
6. ‘Cool As Hell’
7. ‘Move’
8. ‘Headphones’ feat. Lara Andallo
9. ‘Somewhere Deep’ feat. Yirrmal
10. ‘Funk Wit Us’
11. ‘Stupid Dumb’
12. ‘Meditjin’ feat. JessB
13. ‘Ain’t Nobody Like You’ feat. Jerome Farah
14. ‘Make You Wanna Dance’ feat. Thando

You May Like