Cool Sounds share new single ‘Back to Me’, announce Melbourne show with Snowy Band

Their fourth album 'Bystander' is due February next year

Cool Sounds have announced their fourth studio album, ‘Bystander’, set for release on February 12 next year.

The Melbourne jangle group have also shared the record’s first single, ‘Back to Me’. The new track is a return to the languorous groove of their earlier material, after the introspective folk of their home-recorded EP ‘Sleepers’, released in July.

The track arrives with a madcap music video, in which frontman Dainis Lacey and keyboardist Ambrin Hasnain are shrunk via tin foil hat radiation, run away from a spider, and see fruit with the band’s faces on it – watch it below.


Cool Sounds have also announced they’ll be playing a limited capacity show in January at The Corner Hotel in Melbourne, supported by Snowy Band.

The show is the first for the Melbourne band since restrictions were eased in the state this month. It’ll go down on January 15, from 9:30pm AEDT – tickets will go on sale later today via the venue.

This year, Cool Sounds released the ‘Sleepers’ EP, and the one-off single ‘Vice’, a kitsch reimagining of The Doobie Brothers’ song ‘What A Fool Believes’.

They released their third studio album ‘More To Enjoy’ in 2019, featuring the singles ‘Around and Down’, ‘Hula Hoop Group’ and the title track.


Pre-orders for ‘Bystander’ via Bandcamp are now open.

The tracklist for Cool Sounds’ ‘Bystander’ is:

  1. Plains
  2. ‘Back to Me’
  3. ‘Bystander’
  4. ‘Crimson Mask’
  5. ‘Human Statue’
  6. ‘Church Bells’
  7. ‘South of France’
  8. ‘Netherlands’
  9. ‘Colours of Protest’