e4444e announces new album ‘I Spend All Day Drawing a Circle’ and shares lead single

Listen to 'The Whistler' ahead of the album's arrival in September

Newcastle songwriter Romy Church – aka e4444e – has announced new album ‘I Spend All Day Drawing a Circle’ will arrive on his new label, Dinosaur City, in September.

To coincide with the news, Church has shared the album’s lead single, ‘The Whistler’, a highly textural cut that begins with acoustic guitar and Church’s gently-sung vocals before building up layers of distortion and noise.

“This is a mid-winter song”, Church says of the new track. “It is really heavy, but really floaty at the same time. It is about the tension between reflection and actually putting into action the things you think about.”


‘The Whistler’ arrives alongside a video created by Grace Murphy at Luna Park in Sydney. Watch that below:

Set to arrive on September 30, ‘I Spend All Day Drawing a Circle’ will mark Church’s first release through Dinosaur City. It’ll be Church’s third album in as many years, following on from 2020’s ‘Coldstream Road’ and last year’s ‘Autumnal Eve’, both of which were released via Spunk.

“The album name comes from a short story I wrote about a dejected person who sheds most of his stuff and spends his time drawing circles with charcoal on paper,” Church explained in a statement.

“I think that is how I felt making these recordings, they felt simultaneously like the least and most important thing in the world. It’s a cliché, but I think this music helped me a lot, it’s still helping me.”

The tracklist for ‘I Spend All Day Drawing a Circle’ is:


1. ‘Beautiful Hills/Later’
2. ‘Zero’
3. ‘Navel’
4. ‘Sunday Taking Me to the Mangroves’
5. ‘Storm’
6. ‘radar.radar’
7. ‘Tails’
8. ‘PSR 00’
9. ‘The Whistler’
10. ‘Stormsong’
11. ‘Turbulent’