Flume, Ruel, Mallrat nominated for inaugural Global APRA Music Awards

Other nominees include songwriters Joel Little, Alex Hope and Sarah Aarons

The Australasian Performing Right Association and Australasian Mechanical Copyright Owners Society – better known as the APRA AMCOS – has announced nominees for the inaugural Global APRA Music Awards. Among them are producer Flume, singer Mallrat and songwriter Sarah Aarons.

Flume is up for the West Coast Overseas Recognition Award, against producer Joel Little (known for his work on Taylor Swift’s 2019 album, ‘Lover’), Alex Hope (Tegan and Sara’s latest album, ‘Hey I’m Just Like You’) and Sarah Aarons (Zedd’s smash single ‘The Middle’ and Maren Morris’ album ‘Girl’). Ruel and Mallrat are both nominated for the West Coast Breakthrough Songwriter Of The Year, alongside hip-hop production team Twice As Nice and DJ Kito.

Other nominees include singer-songwriter Sinead Burgess, country duo Seaforth, electro-pop band Parcels and London-based soul singer Jordan Rakei. Check out the full list of nominees here.


The Global APRA Music Awards will be held in Los Angeles, Nashville and London in early 2020, representing the West and East Coasts of the United States, and Europe, respectively. Three sets of awards in four categories will be given out at each ceremony.

The categories include Breakthrough Songwriter Of The Year, Overseas Recognition Award, Songwriter Of The Year and Distinguished Services Award. The nominees were reviewed by an independent panel, with final decisions made by the APRA Board of Directors, according to The Industry Observer.

“The launch of the Global APRA Music Awards is a reflection of the incredible success that Australian and New Zealand songwriters and composers are achieving internationally,” APRA Chair Jenny Morris said in a press statement. “In all cases of nominations, the APRA members must be residents in the territory for a minimum of six consecutive months,” she added.

Earlier this year, the APRA AMCOS held the 37th annual APRA Awards in Melbourne, Australia. Winners included Ed Sheeran for ‘Perfect’ (International Work Of The Year) Sarah Aarons for ‘The Middle’ (Dance Work of the Year) and Dean Lewis for Breakthrough Songwriter Of The Year.

You May Like