Groovin the Moo 2023 line-up updates: Hilltop Hoods and DICE replace bbno$ and Genesis Owusu in Bunbury

Genesis Owusu and bbno$ will still be performing across other Groovin The Moo dates, ending their run of shows in Sunshine Coast on April 30

Ahead of Groovin The Moo‘s 2023 edition kicking off this weekend, there have been a handful of changes to the festival’s line-up.

Yesterday (April 18), Hilltop Hoods took to Instagram to announce that they and DICE will be stepping in to replace Canadian rapper bbno$ and Australian singer Genesis Owusu in Bunbury. Genesis Owusu and bbno$ are still slated to perform across the remaining Groovin The Moo dates, but will end their run of shows in Sunshine Coast on April 30.

Per a press release, it was confirmed that both Genesis Owusu and bbno$ “have to end their GTM tour in Sunshine Coast and can’t make it to WA.”



Each edition of the festival will feature a unique roster of “Fresh Produce” artists. Fresh Produce acts include Aleksiah, J-Milla, Kanada The Loop, Molly Rocket, Butterknife, Hey! Astro, Lola Scott and Talakai among many others.

Have a look at all of the Fresh Produce additions to Groovin The Moo 2023 below:

Elsewhere on this year’s Groovin The Moo line-up are international drawcards like Alt-J, Denzel Curry, Fatboy Slim, Eliza Rose, Slayyyter and bbno$, along with homegrown acts like Amy Shark, Ball Park Music, The Chats, Confidence Man, Ocean Alley and Teenage Joans.


This year’s edition of Groovin The Moo kicks off April 21 at Adelaide Showground, before stops in Maitland, Canberra, Bendigo, the Sunshine Coast and Bunbury. Notably, the festival’s 2023 edition marks its first full-scale, six-city run since 2019. The festival did not go ahead in 2020 or 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It returned last year, taking place in Maitland, Canberra and Bendigo only.

This year’s Sunshine Coast edition – at Kawana Sports Western Precinct in Warana – sees the festival move from its usual Queensland home of Townsville. Organisers cited “the logistical challenges and increased financial pressures” for the switch, which led to Townsville mayor Jenny Hill calling on triple j to withdraw its partnership with the festival.

“Let’s face it, the Sunshine Coast is an outer suburb of Brisbane,” Hill said. “The tyranny of distance kills us for events. You shouldn’t have to live in Brisbane for liveability. We can’t make it a liveable place if we don’t have some events.”

Groovin The Moo’s 2023 line-up is:

Amy Shark
Ball Park Music

The Chats
Confidence Man
Denzel Curry
Eliza Rose
Fatboy Slim
Genesis Owusu
Hilltop Hoods

Nothing but Thieves
Ocean Alley
Royel Otis
Slowly Slowly
Sophie May
Teen Jesus and the Jean Teasers
Teenage Dads
Teenage Joans

Groovin The Moo’s 2023 dates and venues are:

Friday 21 – Wayville, Adelaide Showground (Kaurna Country)
Saturday 22 – Maitland, Showground (Wonnarua Country)
Sunday 23 – Canberra, EPIC (Ngambri and Ngunnawal Country)
Saturday 29 – Bendigo, Prince of Wales Showgrounds (Dja Dja Wurrung Country)
Sunday 30 – Sunshine Coast, Kawana Sports Western Precinct (Kabi Kabi and Jinibara Country)

Saturday 6 – Bunbury, Hay Park (Wardandi Noongar Country)

Stay tuned to NME for more Australian festival news.

You May Like