Katie Dey announces ‘mydata’ remix album, featuring 100 Gecs’ Laura Les, June Jones

'urdata' sees 12 artists reworks all 12 'mydata' tracks

Katie Dey has announced a ‘mydata’ remixes album, entitled ‘urdata’, featuring 100 gecs’ Laura Les, June Jones, Lonelyspeck and more.

Tomberlin, frequent collaborator Devi McCallion (formerly) of Black Dresses, Baths, default genders, Danny L Harle and others also contribute to the record.

Dey has shared Les’ remix of ‘leaving’ and Tomberlin’s of closing track ‘data’ in advance of the release. The former’s remix is more tender than most 100 Gecs songs, though it still pitches up Dey’s already synthetic voice and adds a hyperpop beat. Tomberlin entirely rerecords’ ‘Data’ as a touching acoustic ditty.


Listen to both below.

In a press release, Tomberlin called Dey a “genius”, and described how she recorded her version of ‘data’.

“Her creativity and desire to explore the depth of her own internal world and to transform that to a sonic landscape the particular way she does is a true gift,” Tomberlin wrote.

“The music is visceral yes, but Katie is an underrated lyricist as well. This song was always beautiful to me, but having to stop and actually process the lyrics was Emotional (sic) to say the least. I locked myself in my bathroom, turned off all the lights, and pressed record on my iPhone voice memo to test out playing the song this way. I sent it to Katie and she loved it. Hopefully my first take honors and encapsulates the intensity singing her song brought up for me. Katie Dey forever.”


Dey’s ‘urdata’ will be released on January 2 via Run For Cover.

‘mydata’, Dey’s fourth album was released in July of last year. She described the album in a statement as “explicitly about an internet relationship, which can be precisely as meaningful as a relationship that’s physical”.

In September, Dey teamed up with McCallion to release the collaborative album, ‘Magic Fire Brain’.

The tracklist of Katie Dey’s ‘urdata’ is:

1. ‘darkness’ (Lonelyspeck remix)
2. ‘dancing’ (Ada Rook faulty choreography mix)
3. ‘happiness’ (Nondi_ remix)
4. ‘leaving’ (Laura Les remix)
5. ‘hurting’ (June Jones remix)
6. ‘word’ (Pastel remix)
7. ‘hopeless’ (Danny L Harle remix)
8. ‘loving’ (Baths remix)
9. ‘closeness’ (ESPer99 remix)
10. ‘bearing’ (Devi McCallion remix)
11. ‘hoping’ (default genders remix)
12. ‘data’ (Tomberlin cover)