LOONA announce upcoming title track ‘Freesm’ and tracklist for ‘The Origin Album: 0’

Their first release as an 11-member group arrives in January

Blockberry Creative has unveiled the tracklist for LOONA‘s January comeback as an 11-member group, their first new music since the expulsion of Chuu earlier this month.

The tracklist was released via LOONA’s official social media earlier today (December 14) at midnight KST, detailing the five new tracks to be expected on the upcoming record ‘The Origin Album: 0’. The EP will be led by title track ‘Freesm’, accompanied by four B-sides: opener ‘0’, ‘Comet’, ‘B.U.R.N (Be U Right Now)’ and ‘Flash’.

The tracklist also detailed the composers, lyricists and producers who worked on the songs. Production house MUMW – whose oeuvre includes songs from f(x), BoA, EXO and more – worked on both ‘Freesm’ and ‘B.U.R.N (Be U Right Now)’, while 153/Joombas and Monotree producers and songwriters were credited on the tracks ‘Comet’ and ‘Flash’ respectively.


The five-part project is slated for official release on January 3, 2023.

This new release will mark the band’s first music since Chuu was removed from LOONA last month, with Blockberry Creative alleging that she was “expelled” due to “violent language and misuse of power” towards its staff. After the announcement prompted backlash and skepticism from fans, the label later published a second statement clarifying that it did not make its initial statement “with the goal of exposing Chuu’s misuse of power to the public and media”.

That second statement also responded to calls for Blockberry to substantiate its allegations of Chuu’s “misuse of power”, saying: “It is the rights of Chuu herself and the staff who was harmed to provide the truth or evidence of this.”

Soon after Chuu’s removal from the group, news outlet JTBC reported that nine of LOONA’s members – with the exception of Hyunjin and Vivi – filed injunctions to terminate their contracts with Blockberry Creative. The company later denied these reports, calling them “groundless” in a statement to Sports Dongah

The following day, Chuu broke her silence on her expulsion from LOONA via her Instagram Stories, maintaining in a brief message to followers that she “[hasn’t] done anything that would be shameful to [her] fans”. “In the future, as my position is decided, I will share another statement. Thank you so much for your concern and for trusting in me,” Chuu said.


The singer first made her debut in 2017 as a founding member of LOONA, releasing her self-titled single album in December that year. That record featured title track ‘Heart Attack’. She later became a member of the LOONA sub-unit LOONA / yyxy, alongside former bandmates Yves, Go Won and Olivia Hye, with whom she dropped the 2018 EP ‘beauty&thebeat’.

LOONA’s forthcoming music will mark their first since mini-album ‘Flip That’ released in June. One notable B-side in the six-track project is ‘POSE’, a song they released for the finale of reality competition series Queendom 2 in May.

Last week, Chuu released her first post-LOONA single, the duet ‘Dear My Winter’ with K-R&B singer George.

You May Like