Sweet Whirl announces debut album, shares new video

'How Much Works' will be released through Chapter Music

Melbourne singer-songwriter Sweet Whirl – aka Esther Edquist – has announced the upcoming release of her debut album ‘How Much Works’ via Chapter Music.

Edquist released the record’s lead single, ‘Something I Do’, yesterday (February 20), alongside a video directed by James Thomson. The visual intercuts shots of Edquist playing piano in an austere room with her roaming around a laundromat.

Watch it below.


A press release refers to the forthcoming album as her “proper” debut, following last year’s EP ‘Love Songs And Poetry’.

Edquist produced and recorded almost all of the new record herself, apart from guitar, drums and therevox synthesiser, which were laid down by Sleep Decade members Monty and Casey Hartnett.

Fellow Chapter Music artist Gregor contributes backing vocals to album cuts ‘Make That Up For Me’ and ‘Conga Line’. ‘How Much Works’ arrives May 29 with a limited edition white vinyl available for pre-order. Check out the full tracklist below.

Sweet Whirl is set to support Crayon Fields at the Gasometer in Melbourne on February 29. She will also appear at Meadow Music Festival in Bambra, Victoria, this May, alongside headliners Angie McMahon and Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, and recent additions Mr. Teenage and Donny Benet.

Sweet Whirl – ‘How Much Works’ tracklist


3.Patterns Of Nature
4.Something I Do
5.Conga Line
6. Tail Light
7. How To Count
8. Make That Up For Me
9. Closing Time
10. Your Love On Ice