The Jungle Giants, Ball Park Music among almost 70 finalists for 2022 Queensland Music Awards

The awards ceremony will take place at Brisbane's Fortitude Music Hall on March 29

The Jungle Giants and Ball Park Music are among almost 70 artists that have been named as finalists for this year’s Queensland Music Awards (QMAs).

The 2022 QMAs has a total of 68 finalists across 17 song and video categories, with winners to be announced during the March 29 ceremony at Brisbane’s Fortitude Music Hall.

The Jungle Giants appear in two categories; Pop, alongside Eves Karydas, Asha Jefferies and Sycco, and Electronic, with Golden Vessel, Hayden James, Nat Dunn, Gorgon City and Sampology. Meanwhile, Ball Park Music will be up against Hallie, Hope D and WAAX for the Rock Award.


Beddy Rays, ELEEA, Jem-Cassar Daley and Sachém are up for the Indigenous Award, while Miiesha has also been nominated in two categories: Soul/Funk/R&B and Regional/Remote.

“We have some of Australia’s most exciting names in music up for awards,” said QMusic CEO Kris Stewart, whose organisation is set to produce the event. “The QMAs is also a golden opportunity to be among the first to hear from the next big names in music such as Hope D, Zheani, Felivand, Hallie, Freight Train Foxes, Hayley Marsten, Hollow Coves and iiiConic.”

Four artists will also vie for the Billy Thorpe Scholarship, supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland. They are Alex Edwards, DENNIS, Cloe Terare, and again, Jem-Cassar Daley. The winner will receive $10,000 to record with a professional producer and a career planning package.

“Queensland’s contemporary music sector continues to pave a pathway of hope, healing and happiness,” said Queensland Minister for the Arts Leeanne Enoch. “These four talented nominees are just a small part of live music’s significant and dynamic contribution to our state’s diverse arts and cultural offering.”

The 2022 Queensland Music Awards finalists are: 

Blues Arcadia – ‘Follow The Leader’
Freight Train Foxes – ‘Cardboard Satellites’
Mardi Wilson – ‘Salty’
Sue Ray – ‘Take Me Away’


Children’s Music
Angela Small – ‘Dino Boogie’
Fabulous Lemon Drops – ‘Dinosaur Boogie’
The Mini Moshers – ‘New Shoes’
The Wobble Bus – ‘It Hurts’

Contemporary Classical
Australian Vocal Ensemble (AVÉ) – ‘Suburban’
Corrina Bonshek – ‘Dreams Of The Earth’
Danny Widdicombe – ‘Spiro’
Thomas Green – ‘Five Quick-Tempered Dances (Movement 3)’

Brad Butcher – ‘Cutting People’s Grass’
Camille Trail – ‘I Know I’m Hard To Love’
Casey Barnes – ‘God Took His Time On You’
Hayley Marsten – ‘Drowning Myself’

Golden Vessel – ‘Getforward’
The Jungle Giants – ‘Treat You Right’
Nat Dunn, Hayden James, Gorgon City – ‘Foolproof’
Sampology – ‘Running Around’

Andrea Kirwin – ‘Beautiful Morning’
Asha Jefferies – ‘Crybaby’
Hollow Coves – ‘Blessings’
Tim Hart – ‘Steady As She Goes’

DZ Deathrays – ‘All Or Nothing’
Mass Sky Raid – ‘Arrows’
The Stranger – ‘Eleventh Hour’
Zheani – ‘F… The Hollywood Cult’

Hip Hop
Creed Tha Kid – ‘Body’
DAY1 – ‘Limit’
iiiConic – ‘Okay’
Nebzy – ‘Catalyst’

Beddy Rays – ‘Wait A While’
ELEEA – ‘Red Wine’
Jem Cassar-Daley – ‘Letting Go’
Sachém – ‘Motherland’

IMPULSE Orchestra – ‘Sonorous Figurine’
Luke Cuerel Quintet – ‘MARPG’
Milton Man Gogh – ‘See You Round The Traps (For John Condon)’
Valtozash – ‘Pedalling E’

Asha Jefferies – ‘Crybaby’
Eves Karydas – ‘Lemonade’
The Jungle Giants – ‘Love Signs’
Sycco – ‘My Ways’

Ball Park Music – ‘Sunscreen’
Hallie – ‘Babysitter’
Hope D – ‘Addict’
WAAX – ‘Most Hated Girl’

FELIVAND – ‘Where Were You’
iyah may – ‘XO Girl’
Miiesha – ‘Made For Silence’
Yb. – ‘Coffee Shop’

Andrea Kirwin – ‘Firenze’
Day Of Embers – ‘Oceans Apart’
Matt Hsu’s Obscure Orchestra – ‘Welcome To The Neighbourhood: Taiwan (就當家裡)’
Menaka Thomas – ‘On The Horizon’

Youth (ages 10-17)
Abi Muir – ‘Still The Same’
Amy Elise – ‘Only 16’
Bella Mackenzie – ‘Ain’t For You’
Paulina – ‘Parasite’

Miiesha – ‘Damaged’
Nat Dunn, Hayden James, Gorgon City – ‘Foolproof’
Sahara Beck – ‘Crave Me’
Tia Gostelow – ‘Valley Nights feat. Sahara Beck and Hope D’

Deena Lynch – ‘Who Died And Made You King?’ (Jaguar Jonze)
Jennifer Embelton – ‘Where Were You’ (Felivand)
Macario De Souza, Allan Hardy, Dayna Yates, Cam Pianta, Tyson Lloyd, Kelly Holden – ‘Every Single Time’ (Example feat. What So Not & Lucy Lucy)
Natalie Sim – ‘Astronaut’ (Jaguar Jonze)

2022 Billy Thorpe Scholarship Finalists
Alex Edwards
Jem Cassar-Daley

2022 People’s Choice Awards Nominees

Metro Venue Of The Year
The Fortitude Music Hall
HOTA Home of the Arts
The Junk Bar
Miami Marketta
Mo’s Desert Clubhouse
Lefty’s Music Hall
The Princess Theatre
Studio 188
The Tivoli
Tomcat Bar
The Triffid
The Zoo

Regional Venue Of The Year
Eleven Dive Bar
Tanks Arts Centre

Festival Of The Year
Agnes Blues, Roots & Rock Festival
Airlie Beach Festival of Music
The Birdsville Big Red Bash
Buskers By The Lake
Earth Frequency Festival
Hidden Lanes Festival
Jungle Love Festival
NOOSA alive!
Waghorn to West

You May Like