The Beths announce new album, ‘Jump Rope Gazers’

The band also shared the first track off the forthcoming record

New Zealand indie rockers The Beths have announced the forthcoming release of their second album, ‘Jump Rope Gazers’ and shared the first single, ‘Dying To Believe’.

‘Dying To Believe’ is the band’s first new music for 2020 and a follow-up to their 2018 album ‘Future Me Hates Me’. Stream it here:


Yesterday (April 8), The Beths hosted a 40-minute livestream concert on YouTube where they shared some information on the new release and performed a handful of tracks, beginning with a rendition of the theme from popular game Animal Crossing.

During their livestream, the band performed an acoustic version of ‘Dying To Believe’ and announced that they will be releasing ‘Jump Rope Gazers’ on July 10 via Carpark Records (which also put out ‘Future Me Hates Me’). They also gave a shoutout to MusicHelps, a New Zealand mental charity that specifically supports musicians, similar to Australia’s Support Act.

A music video for ‘Dying To Believe’, directed by Callum Devlin, premiered on YouTube last night. The track also premiered on triple j yesterday. ‘Dying To Believe’ is the second track from ‘Jump Rope Gazers’, which is ten songs long.


In a statement, frontperson Liz Stokes said the writing on the album was influenced by the band’s hectic overseas touring schedule in 2019, resulting in them being thousands of miles away from their friends and family.

“It was a rough year in general, and I found myself saying the words, ‘wish you were here, wish I was there,’ over and over again,” she said.

“When you’re home, you miss everybody, and when you’re away, you miss everybody. We were just missing people all the time.”

The Beths will be supporting Weezer, Green Day and Fall Out Boy for their Hella Mega Tour which will visit venues throughout Australia and New Zealand in November. They’ve also been locked in for the UK’s Latitude Festival in July, which is still going ahead at time of writing.

Late last month, The Beths announced they were postponing their North American tour, which had been set to kick off this month, due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The tracklist for The Beths’ ‘Jump Rope Gazers’ is:

  1. ‘I’m Not Getting Excited’
  2. ‘Dying To Believe’
  3. ‘Jump Rope Gazers’
  4. ‘Acrid’
  5. ‘Do You Want Me Now’
  6. ‘Out Of Sight’
  7. ‘Don’t Go Away’
  8. ‘Mars, the God of War’
  9. ‘You Are a Beam of Light’
  10. ‘Just Shy of Sure’