NME’s best songs of 2017 so far 

These are the new tunes you need in your life

11. Methyl Ethel – ‘No 28’

From Australia’s hotbed of brilliant psych, Perth, come Methyl Ethel. Like a musical Houdini, this highlight from second album ‘Everything Is Forgotten’ puts itself into an impossible melodic position, then somehow escapes.

12. Wiley – ‘Speakerbox’

Wiley’s comeback album was littered with some much-deserved celebratory lines, and none more so than ‘Speakerbox’; “If you look into my face, gonna see a boss/If you look into the crowd, you will see a mosh”.



13. Goldfrapp – ‘Anymore’

On which Goldfrapp return to the sound of their early ’00s electronica and raise eyebrows by making it really quite good, actually.

14. Katy Perry – ‘Chained To The Rhythm’

On this song Perry takes jabs at blissful ignorance via the metaphor of pop, which we can’t help feel is sort of shooting herself in the foot. But as the first example of her self-described “purposeful pop” it’s not a bad start – mainly thanks to it also being a massive tune.

15. Marika Hackman – ‘Boyfriend’

Joined by a backing band – her mates The Big Moon – Marika Hackman switches grungy folk for nonchalantly vicious indie. “I held his girl in my hands,” she reflects, “she likes it ’cause they’re softer than a man’s.


16. Sigrid – ‘Don’t Kill My Vibe’

Few have made an entrance quite like Norwegian 20-year-old Sigrid this year. This is the kind of pop debut that only comes around every so often – thanks in no small part to its enormous ‘fuck-off’ of a chorus.

17. Ryan Adams – ‘Prisoner’

From Ryan Adams’ sixteenth album of the same name – about the breakup of Adams’ marriage – ‘Prisoner’ is a beautiful fingerpicked melody counterbalanced by lyrics from a gently bleeding heart: “I know our love is wrong / I am a criminal / I am a prisoner“.

18. Liv Dawson – ‘Searching’

Dawson made everyone sit up and pay attention with this Disclosure-produced banger, which pitches her powerhouse vocal against the Lawrence brothers’ glossy beats.

19. Simon Doom – ‘I Feel Unloved’

This fuzzy lo-fi track has a killer riff, and it’s produced by MGMT’s Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser – just like the rest of Simon O’Connor’s forthcoming debut album, ‘Babyman’.

20. Confidence Man – ‘Boyfriend (Repeat)’

The mysterious Brisbane supergroup’s 2016 tune has just arrived in the UK on Heavenly. Every dance-punk aspect feels perfectly honed: the bristling bassline; the bubbling synths; the nonchalant vocals; the background yelps; all the way to that final “Get down“.