Run The Jewels to guest star in ‘Portlandia’

Carrie Brownstein and Fred Armisen's cult sketch show 'Portlandia' returns in early January.

Run The Jewels are to guest star in the next season of Portlandia.

The sketch show starring Sleater-Kinney‘s Carrie Brownstein and Saturday Night Live alumnus Fred Armisen launched on US cable network IFC in 2011 and is due to return for its sixth season on January 5.

The show sends up the wide variety of alternative lifestyles in the notoriously liberal northwestern city of Portland, Oregon. Over the years the show has attracted a steady stream of guest stars from the world of music including Jack White, Aimee Mann, Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy, Queens Of The Stone Age frontman Josh Homme and No Doubt.


Alongside Run The Jewels, The B-52’s have also been announced as guest stars during season six. Brownstein and Armisen have said the show will end with its eighth season in 2018.

READ MORE: Why ‘Portlandia’ Is The Best TV Comedy Series You’ve Probably Never Seen

Meanwhile, Run The Jewels announced earlier this month that they will return in January with third album ‘RTJ3’.

The duo also shared the new song ‘Legend Has It’ to go along with the announcement – listen below.

The full tracklisting for ‘RTJ3’ has also been revealed, with collaborations from the likes of Danny Brown and TV On The Radio‘s Tunde Adebimpe. Check it out below.


1. Down [ft. Joi Gilliam]
2. Talk to Me
3. Legend Has It
4. Call Ticketron
5. Hey Kids (Bumaye) [feat. Danny Brown]
6. Stay Gold
7. Don’t Get Captured
8. Thieves! (Screamed the Ghost) [feat. Tunde Adebimpe]
9. 2100 [ft. Boots]
10. Panther Like a Panther (Miracle Mix) [feat. Trina]
11. Everybody Stay Calm
12. Oh Mama
13. Thursday in the Danger Room [feat. Kamasi Washington]
14. Report to the Shareholders/Kill Your Masters

You May Like