Danny Brown announces new album ‘uknowhatimsayin¿’, drops video for new track ‘Dirty Laundry’

The rapper's fifth studio album is produced by Q-Tip

Danny Brown has revealed details of his new album ‘uknowhatimsayin¿’, as well as sharing the video for first single ‘Dirty Laundry’.

In a press release, Danny Brown said of the new album, “This is my version of a stand-up comedy album. Most of my close friends now aren’t rappers — they’re comedians and actors. So I wanted to create something that mixed humour with music. Something that was funny but not parody.”

The album is executive produced by Q-Tip, and the rapper opened up about working with the A Tribe Called Quest co-founder. “There was no room for error,” Brown said. “Q-Tip wanted me to go back to that ‘Greatest Rapper Ever’ era. I almost had to relearn how to rap again — an ego death type thing. He gave me this whole new outlook on music. I can’t go back to how I was before.”


The news comes alongside new single ‘Dirty Laundry’, with a music video directed by Simon Cahn – watch it below.

The tracklisting for ‘uknowhatimsayin¿’ is as follows:

01 ‘Change Up’
02 ‘Theme Song’
03 ‘Dirty Laundry’
04 ‘3 Tearz’ [Feat. Run the Jewels]
05 ‘Belly of the Beast’ [Feat. Obongjayar]
06 ‘Savage Nomad’
07 ‘Best Life’
08 ‘uknowhatimsayin¿’
09 ‘Negro Spiritual’ [Feat. JPEGMAFIA]
10 ‘Shine’ [Feat. Blood Orange]
11 ‘Combat’

The follow-up to 2016’s ‘Atrocity Exhibition’ arrives on October 4 via Warp.


Last year, Danny Brown starred alongside Matthew McConaughey in the movie White Boy Rick.

The Detroit rapper starred alongside the Oscar-winner in the Yann Demange directed movie. It was based on the true story of Richard Wershe Jr., who in the 1980s became the youngest-ever FBI informant at the age of just 14.

You May Like