All 13 dwarves revealed for ‘The Hobbit’

First snap of Oin, Gloin, Dwalin, Balin and co is revealed

The first image of the 13 dwarves to lead Bilbo Baggins on his unexpected journey in The Hobbit have appeared online.

So deep breath, from left to right it’s, Nori, Fili, Dori, Bofur, Gloin, Dwalin, Thorin, Balin, Oin, Bombur, Bifur, Ori and Kili.

If you saw the video on Peter Jackson‘s Facebook page yesterday (July 21) you’ll have witnessed Sir Ian McKellen, rather impressively, naming them all.

Whether or not he could do the same with the actors only time will tell, but for now, again from left to right, here they are: Jed Brophy, Dean O’Gorman, Mark Hadlow, James Nesbitt, Peter Hambleton, Graham McTavish, Richard Armitage, Ken Stott, John Callen, Stephen Hunter, William Kircher, Adam Brown and Aidan Turner.

The most familiar face, to British viewers, will be James Nesbitt star of Cold Feet and Bloody Sunday, while Being Human‘s Aiden Turner is already labelled ‘the attractive dwarf’ or the ‘DILF’.


Added to the line up will be Martin Freeman as Bilbo, along with returning actors Ian McKellen, Cate Blanchett, Hugo Weaving and many, many more.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey will be released in the UK on December 14 2012.


General Election 2019: Conservatives declared winners after disastrous night for Labour

Jeremy Corbyn and Jo Swinson will both stand down as party leaders.

Edward Norton: “If you take your work seriously, it’s all-consuming”

The 'Fight Club' star on working with Thom Yorke, new film 'Motherless Brooklyn' and building a Hollywood legacy