DC announces more than 10 new superhero movies to challenge Marvel

Batman and Superman to be joined by Wonder Woman, Aquaman and The Flash with new standalone films

Warner Bros and DC Comics have announced more than 10 new films to be released between 2016 and 2020. They include new Superman, Batman and Justice League adventures.

The move to challenge Disney and Marvel’s success at the box office with superhero franchises such as The Avengers and Iron Man, will also see solo outings for Wonder Woman, Aquaman and The Flash.

Though Superman reboot Man of Steel under-performed at the box office last year, Zack Snyder’s sequel Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice will kick start the new wave of DC spin-offs in 2016. The film is currently shooting with Ben Affleck playing an ageing caped crusader and Henry Cavill returning to the role of Superman. The film will also feature Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman, Jason Momoa (Game Of Thrones) as Aquaman and Ezra Miller (We Need To Talk About Kevin) as The Flash.

A press release from studio Warner Bros has stated: “Warner Bros. Pictures and New Line Cinema will release a slate of at least 10 movies – as well as stand-alone Batman and Superman films – from 2016 through 2020 that expands this prized universe of characters.”

Read the full schedule below:

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, directed by Zack Snyder (2016)

Suicide Squad, directed by David Ayer (2016)

Wonder Woman, starring Gal Gadot (2017)

Justice League Part One, directed by Zack Snyder, with Ben Affleck, Henry Cavill and Amy Adams reprising their roles (2017)

The Flash, starring Ezra Miller (2018)

Aquaman, starring Jason Momoa (2018)

Shazam, featuring Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson as villain/anti-hero Black Adam (2019)

Justice League Part Two, directed by Zack Snyder (2019)

Cyborg, starring Ray Fisher (2020)

Green Lantern (2020)