Seventh instalment of ‘Fast & Furious’ series given new title

'Furious 7' will be released on April 3 next year

The forthcoming seventh instalment of the Fast & Furious series has been renamed Furious 7 with the first trailer set to be revealed next week.

Filming of the movie was majorly delayed when Paul Walker, who played Brian O’Conner in the franchise, was killed in a car crash last year (November 30).

Immediately after his death there was speculation about the plans for the next film in the series and the project was placed on “indefinite hiatus”.

However, it was later confirmed that filming would continue on the film using a mixture of CGI technology and body doubles at record-breaking expense to insurers.

Paul Walker’s brother, Caleb Walker, will be used for his body size and mannerisms, with Paul’s other brother, Cody, also involved alongside the acting performance of an as yet unnamed actor. Unused material starring Walker from the previous two Fast & Furious films will also be used.

The film will also star Dwayne Johnson, Michelle Rodriguez, Tyrese Gibson, Jason Statham, Kurt Russell, Jordana Brewster and Lucas Black plus a cameo from Iggy Azalea.

Furious 7 will open in the UK on April 3 2015.