‘A Star is Born’ and Lady Gaga snubbed by London critics

Oh dear...

The London Critics’ Circle film awards nomination have been announced – and the Golden Globes-shortlisted A Star is Born is noticeably absent.

Bradley Cooper’s directorial debut, which sees Lady Gaga play the female lead, has five nods at the upcoming Hollywood awards ceremony but not a single nomination in the London critics’ awards.

Instead, The Favourite, Yorgos Lanthimos’s dark period comedy set during Queen Anne’s 18th century reign, has landed 10 nominations. Olivia Colman and Rachel Weisz received two nominations each for the Oscar-tipped movie.

Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga in ‘A Star Is Born’

Both The Favourite and A Star is Born received five nods each at the Golden Globes announcement earlier this month.

You Were Never Really ThereRoma, The Happy Prince, andCold War feature in the London Critics’ Circle film awards nominations.

Check out the full list below:

Film of the year

Cold War
The Favourite
First Man
First Reformed
The Happy Prince
Leave No Trace
You Were Never Really Here 

Actor of the year

Christian Bale, Vice
Rupert Everett, The Happy Prince
Ben Foster, Leave No Trace
Ethan Hawke, First Reformed
Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here 

Actress of the year

Yalitza Aparicio, Roma
Glenn Close, The Wife
Toni Collette, Hereditary
Olivia Colman, The Favourite
Joanna Kulig, Cold War

Supporting actor of the year

Adam Driver, BlacKkKlansman
Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Michael B. Jordan, Black Panther
Daniel Kaluuya, Widows
Alessandro Nivola, Disobedience

Supporting actress of the year

Elizabeth Debicki, Widows
Cynthia Erivo, Bad Times at the El Royale
Claire Foy, First Man
Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk
Rachel Weisz, The Favourite

Director of the year

Pawel Pawlikowski, Cold War 
Yorgos Lanthimos, The Favourite 
Debra Granik, Leave No Trace 
Alfonso Cuaron, Roma
Lynne Ramsay, You Were Never Really Here

Screenwriter of the year

The Favourite
First Reformed
If Beale Street Could Talk

Foreign language film of the year

Cold War
A Fantastic Woman
120 Beats Per Minute

Documentary of the year

Faces Places
They Shall Not Grow Old
Three Identical Strangers

British/Irish film of the year

The Favourite
The Happy Prince
You Were Never Really Here

British actress of the year

Emily Blunt
Jessie Buckley
Olivia Colman
Claire Foy
Rachel Weisz

British actor of the year

Christian Bale
Steve Coogan
Rupert Everett
Richard E. Grant
Daniel Kaluuya

Technical achievement

American Animals, editing
BlacKkKlansman, costume
Cold War, cinematography
The Favourite, production design
First Man, vfx
If Beale Street Could Talk, music
Mission: Impossible – Fallout, stunts
A Quiet Place, sound
Suspiria, music
You Were Never Really Here, editing

Breakthrough British/Irish filmmaker

Deborah Davis, The Favourite
Rupert Everett, The Happy Prince
Deborah Haywood, Pin Cushion
Daniel Kokotajlo, Apostasy
Michael Pearce, Beast

Young British/Irish performer

Liv Hill, The Little Stranger/Jellyfish
Noah Jupe, A Quiet Place/Holmes & Watson/That Good Night/The Titan
Anya Taylor-Joy, Thoroughbreds/The Secret of Marrowbone
Fionn Whitehead, The Children Act
Molly Wright, Apostasy

Dilys Powell Award for career achievement: Pedro Almodovar