Steven Spielberg to be given top producing honour

'Jurassic Park' director to receive David O Selznick Achievement Award

Legendary filmmaker Steven Spielberg is to be honoured at next year’s Producers Guild Awards with the David O Selznick Achievement Award in Motion Pictures.

Speaking about the choice of Spielberg for the award, Producers Guild Awards co-chairs Paula Wagner and Michael Manheim said:

As one of the most prolific filmmakers of all time, Steven’s continued genius, imagination and fearlessness in the world of feature film entertainment is unmatched in this industry.

This year alone, Spielberg has had a hand in many of the big blockbusters of the summer, including working as executive producer on Cowboys And Aliens and Transformers: Dark Of The Moon and producing Super 8.

Previous recipients of the award include Saul Zaentz, Clint Eastwood, Roger Corman, Kathleen Kennedy & Frank Marshall, John Lasseter and last year’s winner Scott Rudin, producer of, among many other films, The Truman Show and The Social Network.

The award will be presented to the three time Oscar-winner on January 21, 2012 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles.

Later this year, Spielberg’s The Adventures Of Tintin (producer) and Real Steel (executive producer) are released on October 26 and October 14, respectively. War Horse, the film that he produced and directed, is released in the UK on January 13, 2012.