‘The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey’ soundtrack details revealed

Here's the release date and full tracklisting for Howard Shore's original score

Full details of Howard Shore‘s soundtrack to The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey have been revealed.

The soundtrack will be released digitally and as a 2CD set on December 11 – three days before the film opens in cinemas worldwide. A ‘Special Edition’ will also available, featuring four exclusive bonus tracks and additional extras. All versions of the soundtrack include ‘Song Of The Mountain’, an original song written and performed by Crowded House singer Neil Finn.

Howard Shore’s original score for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey was recorded by the London Philharmonic Orchestra at Abbey Road Studios. Shore previously composed the scores for Peter Jackson‘s Lord Of The Rings trilogy.

He said in a press release: “I have looked forward to returning to the imaginative world of Middle-earth for quite a while. I read all of the books by Tolkien, including The Hobbit, when I was in my twenties, and his deep love of nature and all things green resonates deeply with me.”

An Unexpected Journey, the first in Jackson’s trilogy of The Hobbit films, gets its worldwide premiere in Wellington, New Zealand on November 28. It then opens in cinemas across the UK on December 13. You can watch the trailer by scrolling down right to the bottom of this article.

Meanwhile, here is the full tracklisting for the soundtrack’s ‘Standard Edition’, as revealed by Fandango:

Disc One:

‘My Dear Frodo’
‘Old Friends’
‘An Unexpected Party’
‘Axe or Sword?’
‘Misty Mountains’ performed by Richard Armitage and The Dwarf Cast
‘The Adventure Begins’
‘The World is Ahead’
‘An Ancient Enemy’
‘Radagast the Brown’
‘Roast Mutton’
‘A Troll-hoard’
‘The Hill of Sorcery’

Disc Two:

‘The Hidden Valley’
‘Moon Runes’
‘The Defiler’
‘The White Council’
‘Over Hill’
‘A Thunder Battle’
‘Under Hill’
‘Riddles in the Dark’
‘Brass Buttons’
‘Out of the Frying-Pan’
‘A Good Omen’
‘Song of the Lonely Mountain’ performed by Neil Finn
‘Dreaming of Bag End’

The ‘Special Edition’ adds a further four tracks to the end of Disc Two: ‘A Very Respectable Hobbit’, ‘Erebor’, ‘The Dwarf Lords’ and ‘The Edge Of The Wild’.