Meilyr Jones wins the 2016 Welsh Music Prize

Singer beats Cate Le Bon and the Anchoress to this year's award

Meilyr Jones has won this year’s Welsh Music Prize for his lauded LP ‘2013’.

The singer beat 9Bach, Alan Gaffey, the Anchoress, Cate Le Bon, Climbing Trees, Datblygu, Plu, Right Hand Left Hand, Simon Love, Skindred, and Sŵnami to the award.

“Winning was a big shock, I really had no idea – I am nervous but overall, it is great to have won,” Jones told The Line Of Best Fit. “I made the record on my own, away from the industry with the help of my family and my good friends. It meant I got to really explore and experiment.”


The former frontman of Aberystwyth psych-poppers Race Horses, who split in 2013, worked on his debut solo album in Rome.

NME described the record as full of “baroque orchestration, giddy choirs and pop hooks”, which sounds “unlike anything else that’s been released in recent times, seemingly refuting the notion that it’s not possible to make anything original in indie any more”.


This year’s ceremony dropped any live performances due to concerns over noise complaints.

Organisers for the prize, founded by BBC Radio 1 DJ Huw Stephens, decided to scale back the event at The Depot in Cardiff.


“We are taking the step to reduce our noise output by reverting to an invite-only event without live performances,” said a Welsh Music Prize statement, earlier this year.

“Due to a small number of noise complaints in recent months at The Depot, we do not want to proceed with a full programme of amplified live music as originally intended.

“We have big plans for next year and we are sorry for any disappointment this may cause.”

Owner Nick Saunders said he was acting to “ensure the local residents enjoy the Depot as much as we do.”

Last year’s award was won by Welsh-language singer Gwenno for her album ‘Y Dydd Olaf’. Previous nominees have included Manic Street Preachers, Catfish and The Bottlemen and Super Furry Animals frontman Gruff Rhys.