Have the xx shared a mysterious new song?

The band are currently holed up in the studio working on the follow-up to 2012's 'Coexist' album.

The xx appear to have shared a cryptic teaser for their new album.

The band recently shared a playlist of songs they have been listening to in the recording studio while they work on the album. It includes music by the Velvet Underground, Aretha Franklin, Solange Knowles, The Cure, Radiohead and Sia.

Now that playlist has been updated to include an unnamed, uncredited 55-second instrumental which sounds as though it could be the handiwork of the xx. Listen below.

The xx recently announced a string of European and Japanese tour dates for winter 2016. In an email to fans, the Mercury Prize-winning trio said the shows will find them “testing out some of our new songs in places we don’t get to go to so often”. These will the band’s first live shows together in three years.

The xx’s full list of upcoming tour dates are below:

28 Zagreb, Croatia – Bocarski Dom
29 Prague, Czech Republic – Forum Karlin
30 Poznan, Poland – Hala Nr 2 MTP
01 Warsaw, Poland – Nowy Teatr
03 Vilnius, Lithuania – Compensa Arena
06 Tokyo, Japan – Toyosu PIT
MARCH 2017
23 Bogota, Colombia – Festival Estereo Picnic
24 Bogota, Colombia – Festival Estereo Picnic
25 Bogota, Colombia – Festival Estereo Picnic
25 Sao Paulo, Brazil – Lollapalooza
26 Sao Paulo, Brazil – Lollapalooza
31 San Isidro, Argentina – Lollapalooza
APRIL 2017
01 San Isidro, Argentina – Lollapalooza
01 Santiago, Chile – Lollapalooza
02 Santiago, Chile – Lollapalooza

The xx first revealed that they had “hibernated to the studio” last year. They have also said their new album, the follow-up to 2012’s ‘Coexist’, is “completely different”. The trio have been working on the record in Texas and Iceland with producer Rodaidh McDonald.