A$AP Rocky comments on Rita Ora allegations: ‘I’m not saying she’s a terrible person’

The rapper sparked controversy over his 'Better Things' lyrics

A$AP Rocky has responded to recent criticism he received over lyrics from his track ‘Better Things’, in which the rapper makes sexual allegations about Rita Ora.

The song features on the rapper’s new album ‘At.Long.Last.A$AP’, with the lyrics in question alluding to an alleged sexual encounter with singer Ora. Now, the hip-hop star has spoken to Radio 1’s Annie Mac about the controversy.

SEE ALSO: A$AP Rocky loses 100,000 followers after posting art piece on Instagram

“I just want to clarify, this isn’t me saying: People don’t go listen to Rita Ora, or she’s an ugly person, or nothing,” Rocky told Mac on Wednesday (May 27). “I’m not saying she’s a terrible person, I’m just saying that when I was in a relationship and I did things with her that I wasn’t supposed to do, she had a big mouth.”

The lyrics on ‘Better Things’ are as follows: “I swear that bitch Rita Ora got a big mouth. Next time I see her might curse the bitch out. Kicked the bitch out once cause she bitched out. Spit my kids out, jizzed up all in her mouth and made the bitch bounce“.

Internet users criticised Rocky, with one writing, “That ASAP Rocky, Rita Ora diss is just disrespectful”, and another adding, “People laughing at the ASAP rocky verse about Rita Ora but I think it’s childish…You never hook up with somebody then clown her to the world”.

‘At.Long.Last.A$AP’ was surprise-released one week early on Tuesday (May 26). The record is the follow-up to 2013 debut ‘Long.Live.ASAP’ and features guest verses from Kanye West, Miguel, Rod Stewart, Schoolboy Q, Lil Wayne and more.

The ‘At.Long.Last.ASAP’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Holy Ghost’ (feat. Joe Fox)
‘Canal St.’ (feat. Bones)
‘Fine Whine’ (feat. M.I.A., Future & Joe Fox)
‘Excuse Me’
‘Lord Pretty Flacko Jodye 2’
‘Electric Body’ (feat. Schoolboy Q)
‘Jukebox Joints’ (feat. Kanye West & Joe Fox)
‘Max B’ (feat. Joe Fox)
‘Pharsyde’ (feat. Joe Fox)
‘Wavybone’ (feat. Juicy J & UGK)
‘Westside Highway’ (feat. James Fauntleroy)
‘Better Things’
‘M’$’ (feat. Lil’ Wayne)
‘Dreams’ (interlude)
‘Everyday’ (feat. Rod Stewart & Miguel)
‘Back Home’ (feat. Mos Def, Acyde & Yams)