Adele, Lana Del Rey, PJ Harvey win at the Ivor Novello Awards

Siouxsie Sioux, Ed Sheeran and Gary Kemp also pick up gongs at the annual awards celebrating British songwriting

Lana Del Rey, Adele and PJ Harvey were among the artists who won Ivor Novello Awards at a ceremony in London this afternoon (May 17).

Adele continued her run of awards success, scooping the PRS For Music Most Performed Work award for ‘Rolling In The Deep’ and Songwriter Of The Year.

Speaking of her single ‘Rolling In The Deep’, the singer told the audience: “I really didn’t think it was going to do anything!”


PJ Harvey, who didn’t attend the awards, won the much-coveted Best Album award for ‘Let England Shake’.

Lana Del Ray, who is currently at the Cannes Film Festival, won Best Contemporary Song for ‘Video Games’.

Best Song Musically and Lyrically went to Ed Sheeran for ‘The A Team’, beating Adele and Florence And The Machine.

The gong for Outstanding Song Collection went to Spandau Ballet’s Gary Kemp, while Take That picked up an Outstanding Contribution to Music award.

Today’s event at Grosvenor House, London, was the 57th Ivor Novello Awards ceremony, which aims to “celebrate honour and reward excellence in British music writing”. This year was the first time in the event’s history that all artists nominated in the Best Album category were women.

Other winners include Siouxsie Sioux, who picked up the Ivors Inspiration Award and Mark Knopfler for a Lifetime Achievement Award. Best Original Film Score went to The First Grader.

You May Like