Air announce new album ‘Le Voyage Dans La Lune’

French duo's new LP features Au Revoir Simone and Beach House's Victoria Legrand

Air have announced that they will release their new album ‘La Voyage Dans La Lune’ early next year.

The album, which has been inspired by the black and white silent film of the same name, is due for release on February 6 2012. It is the French band’s seventh album and their first since 2009’s ‘Love 2’.

The album’s title translates as ‘A Trip To The Moon’ and was originally conceived as a new soundtrack to the 14-minute long film, which was first released in 1902 and was directed by Georges Méliès. However, after creating the soundtrack, the duo then decided to turn the project into a full album.


‘La Voyage Dans La Lune’ is set to feature vocal contributions from Au Revoir Simone and Beach House‘s Victoria Legrand.

Air‘s Nicolas Godin said of the album: “‘A Trip to the Moon’ is undoubtedly more organic than most of our past projects. We wanted it to sound ‘handmade and knocked together’, a bit like Méliès’ special effects. Everything is played live and like Méliès’ film, our soundtrack is nourished by living art.”

The tracklisting for ‘Le Voyage Dans La Lune’ is as follows:

‘Astronomic Club’
‘Seven Stars’
‘Retour Sur Terre’
‘Moon Fever’
‘Sonic Armada’
‘Who Am I Know?’
‘Cosmic Trip’
‘Homme Lune’

  • Related Topics
  • Air