Alt-J unveil brand new song ‘Buffalo’

The Mercury Music Prize winners have contributed a new track to the 'Silver Linings Playbook' soundtrack

Alt-J have unveiled a brand new track, called ‘Buffalo’.

The song is taken from the soundtrack to the forthcoming movie Silver Linings Playbook, which has been directed by David O Russell and stars Bradley Cooper – pictured – and Jennifer Lawrence.

The new song features vocals from the band Mountain Man. You can hear the track online via Entertainment Weekly – scroll down to listen to it.


The Silver Linings Playbook soundtrack also features music from Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash, Alabama Shakes, Eagles of Death Metal and Stevie Wonder, and comes out in the US next week alongside the film. A UK release date for the film has not yet been announced.

Alt-J were recently announced as one of the first bands on the bill for next year’s South by Southwest music festival in Austin, Texas. The annual event takes place from March 12-17, 2013 and will also see appearances from Klaxons and Haim.

Alt-J saw a huge surge in sales of their debut album ‘An Awesome Wave’ following their recent Mercury Music Prize win.

Sales of the LP were up 411 per cent in the eight-week period from the nominations announcement to the ceremony, with the record selling almost 46,000 copies since its nomination in September 2012, according to figures from the BPI.