Tom Waits, Iggy Pop, Amanda Palmer for David Lynch’s meditation compilation

Alanis Morissette, Ben Folds, Moby also contribute to new release

Tom Waits, Iggy Pop and Amanda Palmer are among the artists who have contributed to a compilation to raise money for the David Lynch Foundation.

Lynch‘s foundation looks to promote the use of transcendental meditation, focusing especially on using the technique in schools, prisons, homeless shelters and the army. A host of rock, indie, folk and hip hop artists have contributed to the compilation, which is titled ‘Download For Good: Music That Changed The World Volume 1’.

Speaking about the project, Amanda Palmer said it was important to spread the word about meditation, saying: “We’re trying to spread the word of meditation to younger people. I think it’s one of those things that will hopefully just make the world a more peaceful place fundamentally instead of just trying to undo all the damage.”

She also praised David Lynch for setting up the foundation and added that she believes the Eraserhead/Mullholland Drive director is “the shit”.


The tracklisting for ‘Download For Good’ is as follows:

Ozomatli – ‘Monster’
Iggy Pop – ‘Milk Cow Blues’
Pink Jaffee feat. Jakob Dylan – ‘Won’t You Stay’
Maroon 5 – ‘The Air I Breathe’
Arrested Development – ‘Let It Go’
Peter Gabriel – ‘Curtains’
Carmen Rizzo & G.L Phillips – ‘Bring The Mountain Down’
Donovan – ‘Listen’
Heather Nova – ‘Doubled Up’
Andy Summers ft. Geeta Novotn – ‘Ave Maria’
Dave Stewart – ‘Man To Man’
Mary Hopkin – ‘Gold And Silver’
Tom Waits – ‘The Briar And The Rose’
Ben Folds – ‘Wild Mountain Thyme’
Slightly Stoopid – ‘Wise Man’ (Live at Black Water)
Salman Ahmed – ‘Nachoon Gi’ (David Sisko Remix
Neon Trees – ‘Animal’ (DJs From Mars Remix)
Au Revoir Simone – ‘Boys Of Summer’
Ben Lee – ‘Food For The Moon’
The Waterboys – ‘In The Beginning Was Love’
Moby – ‘The Poison Tree’
The Charlatans – ‘The Only One I Know’ (Factory Floor Remix)
Nancy Sinatra – ‘End of the World’ (Remix)
Peter & Gordon – ‘ True Love Ways’
Band From TV – ‘ I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free’
Phil Soussan – ‘Shot In The Dark’
Alanis Morissette –’20/20′
Special Beat & Paulin – ‘Nightclub’
Patrick Kaas, Jordan Borde – ‘Addict Dux Hormones’
Rodrigo y Gabriela – ‘Satori’
Julio Iglesias Jr. – ‘Geronimo’
EMIN – ‘All I Need Tonight’
Amanda Palmer – ‘In My Mind’