Listen to Animal Collective’s new album in it’s entirety

Released today, 'Painting With' is ready to stream on Spotify

Animal Collective‘s brand new album ‘Painting With’ is available to stream in full through Spotify.

The new LP – which has been released today (19 February) through Domino Recordings – is the first full length album since 2012’s ‘Centipede Hz’. The Baltimore hailing band – who have cited that member Deakin was not present on the album – features guest contributions from the likes of John Cale and Arcade Fire/Bon Iver‘s Colin Stetson

According to Consequence of Sound, the band started the album with the goal of creating “really short songs: no B.S, get in, get out material…” said band member Avey Tare. The result is 12 tracks concerned with and inspired by “art (Cubism, Dadaism, and the distorted way those artists viewed the world) and the human experience, and the meeting of both.” The album – which is available to stream on Spotify – embedded in the player below.


Painting With’ tracklisting
1. FloriDada
2. Hocus Pocus
3. Vertical
4. Lying In The Grass
5. The Burglars
6. Natural Selection
7. Bagels In Kiev
8. On Delay
9. Spilling Guts
10. Summing The Wretch
11. Golden Gal
12. Recycling


January also saw the release of the band’s free Painting With iOS app, which allows for collaborative painting between fans while having early access to album track ‘Lying in the Grass’.

Previously, the band shared new track ‘Golden Gal’ from the album, which you can stream in the player below.


The band have also announced a European and US tour, which kicks off on February 19 in Philadelphia. Animal Collective will stopping for two shows at London’s Shepherds Bush Empire on April 11-12, and Manchester’s O2 Ritz on April 13.

Animal Collective April UK Dates

London – 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire (11)
London – 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire (12)
Manchester – 02 Ritz (13)

You May Like