Animal Collective announce new album details – hear new single ‘FloriDada’ now

'Painting With' will be released in February 2016

Animal Collective have announced details of their eleventh full-length album, ‘Painting With’. Stream new single ‘FloriDada’ now.

The US band will release the follow up to 2012’s ‘Centipede Hz’ on February 19 next year. The album is described as “Warm and personal, kaleidoscopic and high definition”, and the band have worked on it throughout 2015, with band member Avey Tare calling the material “really short songs: no B.S, get in, get out material…”

Recorded at EastWest Studios in Hollywood, once home to sessions by The Beach Boys and Marvin Gaye, the album features contributions from John Cale and Colin Stetson.

The CD and LP formats of the album will be available in three different covers – featuring Animal Collective members Avey Tare, Geologist, and Panda Bear, respectively – as painted by artist Brian DeGraw.

‘Painting With’ tracklist:

‘Hocus Pocus’
‘Lying In The Grass’
‘The Burglars’
‘Natural Selection’
‘Bagels In Kiev’
‘On Delay’
‘Spilling Guts’
‘Summing The Wretch’
‘Golden Gal’

Earlier this year Animal Collective posted new song ‘Michael, Remember’, a 23-minute improvised jam that, was recorded during a practice session last May.

The track was released alongside footage shot in July 2014 by marine biologist Colin Foord at the Flower Garden Banks National Marine Sanctuary in the Gulf of Mexico.