Get your anaoraks at the ready, because Reindeer Section are planning live dates...

BELLE AND SEBASTIAN, MOGWAI and ARAB STRAPare among the Scots indie bands contributing to an album masterminded by GARY LIGHTBODY from SNOW PATROL.

Known as Reindeer Section, the collective has recorded a 15-song album under Lightbody’s direction. The album, ‘Y’All Get Scared Now Ya Hear!’, is released on August 6 through Bright Star recordings, and the “indie supergroup” are set to make their live debut at T In The Park, NME.COM can reveal.

Lightbody told NME.COM: “It’s all thanks to Lou Barlow in a way. He did three gigs at (Glasgow venue) Nice N’ Sleazy in January and everyone was there. I went around drunkenly saying, ‘I’ve started a band called Reindeer Section’ – I’ve no idea where the name came from! – ‘And would you like to be in it?'”


“I was so fired up I wrote 15 songs the day after, and was able to get everyone together to record it – everyone was really into it, and January’s normally a slow month! We recorded 17 songs in ten days.”

John Cummings from Mogwai, Aidan Moffat from Arab Strap, Richard Colburn and Mick Cooke from Belle & Sebastian, Colin MacIntyre from Mull Historical Society, Jenny Reeve from Eva, Willie Campbell and Charlie Clarke from Astrid and fellow Snow Patroller Jonny Quinn.were among the musicians who recorded 17 songs over ten days in Glasgow.

The band also plan to gig, with their live debut coming at T In The Park in Kinross on July 8. It is hoped that Astrid, Cummings, Moffat, Reeve and hopefully Colburn and Cooke will be part of the live band, plus anyone else who is in the vicinity at the time. A secret gig in Belfast around this time is also planned.

To buy tickets for T In The Park,

click here…, or call NME’s 24-Hour Ticketline on 0870 1 663 663. All calls are charged at the national standard rate.