Arcade Fire add five new tracks on Reflektor reissue – listen

Basically, another half an album...

Arcade Fire‘s reissued version of ‘Reflektor’, out this week, features five tracks of new material, as well as a remix of Dennis Bovell’s ‘Flashbulb Eyes’.

The five new songs – entitled ‘Women of a Certain Age’, ‘Get Right’, ‘Crucified Again’, ‘Soft Power’ and ‘Apocrypha’ – add the best part of half an hour to the 2013 album, the Montreal band’s fourth studio record.

The album is being reissued to coincide with the Arcade Fire documentary ‘The Reflector Tapes‘, which arrived in cinemas yesterday (September 24). A seven-inch featuring two of the tracks, ‘Get Right’ and ‘Crucified Again’ was released today (September 25).

NMEJenn Five/NME

It might not be too long before we’re soaking up more new material from the Canadians, either, with Will Butler confirming to NME this week that the new album is around 30% complete.

“We’re all itching to play music together and start recording things,” he said. “We’re basically in the demo and play together phase, and historically that’s led to realising that, surprisingly, we’re 30 per cent into a record, so we’ll see if that happens.”

Butler added, “It’s a bit different this time because everyone’s older and fatter and lazier, so it might take longer, but we’re playing music together. Win and Regine got a place in New Orleans so I think we’ll spend some time there, because why wouldn’t you? But apart from that we’re in the old HQ [in Montreal].”

“We’re not terribly good at schedules and luckily we’re in a position where no-one can ever tell us what to do, so it’s good.”

Stream the new tracks as part of the full ‘Reflector’ reissue via Spotify, below: