Arctic Monkeys to release new track ‘Electricity’ for Record Store Day

Band will offer up the brand new track as the B-side to 'R U Mine?'

Arctic Monkeys have announced that they will be releasing a brand new track titled ‘Electricity’ later this month.

The track will be released as the B-side to the band’s new single ‘R U Mine?’, which is to be re-released on limited edition purple vinyl as part of this year’s Record Store Day on April 21.

You can watch the video for ‘R U Mine?’, which came out earlier this month on digital download, by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and clicking.


Recently, the band’s frontman Alex Turner has said that he wants to start writing the band’s new album.

The band are currently in the middle of a lengthy stint across the USA and Canada as support to The Black Keys on their US arena tour, but Turner told Rolling Stone that he was eager to start penning tunes on the follow-up to last year’s ‘Suck It And See’ so he could get a “head start” on the new record.

He said of this: “I don’t try to write on the road. I might try to this time, just for a change. Usually, I get home and I realise it’s bad, so I’ve not done it in the past. We’ve messed around in soundchecks, but I’m not gonna meet a deadline, and it’s not like I need to write, though I want a head start for the next time around.”

Arctic Monkeys have previously confirmed that they will not be playing any European festivals this summer.


The Best Films of the Decade: The 2010s

As chosen by NME

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts