Arctic Monkeys: ”Suck It And See’ is a balance between our first three albums’

Band also reveal they only recorded 12 songs for their fourth studio LP

Arctic Monkeys have said they believe their new album ‘Suck It And See’ is a “balance between their first three albums.”

Speaking on Zane Lowe‘s show on BBC Radio 1 last night (May 30), frontman Alex Turner said he believed that the band have struck a balance between the observational lyrics of their early work and the less literal lyrics of their last album ‘Humbug’.

He said: “I think the new album is a balance between our first three. There’s nothing about taxi ranks or anything like that, but there’s a bit of the standpoint I had on those early songs and the sense of humour, but also there’s a bit of the ‘Humbug’ stuff which is kind of off in the corners.”

Turner added that it “has never occurred to us to do anything like the first album again”, as it “would be impossible” for him to write in the observational style of their 2006 debut ‘Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not’.

He also admitted that the band only recorded the 12 songs that have made the final cut of ‘Suck It And See’. Responding to a question about how many the band had cut in the studio, he said: “We just recorded those ones. We didn’t want to do that thing were you record 20 songs and then narrow it down.”

‘Suck It And See’ is currently streaming online ahead of its official release next Monday (June 6).

Read Alex Turner’s track-by-track guide to Arctic Monkeys’ new album ‘Suck It And See’

You Can Pre-Order ‘Suck It And See’ At Now.