Arctic Monkeys, Kings Of Leon, Bob Dylan in running for Uncut award

Super Furry Animals and The Horrors also up for consideration

Arctic Monkeys, Kings Of Leon, Bob Dylan, Super Furry Animals and The Horrors are among the acts in consideration for this year’s Uncut Music Award.

Running for its second year, our sister title rewards one act for creating the “most inspiring and rewarding musical experience” released in the past year. Last year the award went to Fleet Foxes for their self-titled debut album.

An initial longlist featuring 25 acts in consideration for the award has been announced today (September 22) – see the list in full below – which will be whittled down to a shortlist of eight, announced in the November issue of Uncut (out October 27).

A winner will be chosen by a specially chosen panel of judges and announced in the January issue (out November 24).

Judging the albums will be the magazine’s editor, Allan Jones, Fleet FoxesRobin Pecknold, Billy Bragg, folk singer Rachel Unthank, radio host Christian O’Connell, BBC creative head of music entertainment Mark Cooper, Stiff Records founder Dave Robinson plus broadcasters Mark Radcliffe, Bob Harris and Danny Kelly.

“The inaugural Uncut Music Award was a resounding success,” said Jones of the contest, which saw Fleet Foxes pip the likes of The Raconteurs and Vampire Weekend to the accolade.

“This year’s award looks like it will be just as hotly contested, with the judges facing a daunting task. There has been a lot of brilliant music over the last year, as our long list of 25 albums vividly demonstrates. Deciding which of them most merits winning the 2009 Uncut Music Award is going to be an exciting process, but no easy task.”

The Uncut Music Award longlist is:

The Acorn – ‘Glory Hope Mountain’
Animal Collective – ‘Merriweather Post Pavilion’
Arctic Monkeys – ‘Humbug’
Bill Callahan – ‘Sometimes I Wish We Were An Eagle’
Graham Coxon – ‘The Spinning Top’
Alela Diane – ‘To Be Still’
Dirty Projectors – ‘Bitte Orca’
Doves – ‘Kingdom Of Rust’
The Duke And The King – ‘Nothing Gold Can Stay’
Bob Dylan – ‘Together Through Life’
Fever Ray – ‘Fever Ray’
Grizzly Bear – ‘Veckatimest’
Levon Helm – ‘Electric Dirt’
The Horrors – ‘Primary Colours’
Kings Of Leon – ‘Only By The Night’
The Low Anthem – ‘Oh My God Charlie Darwin’
Madness – ‘The Liberty Of Norton Folgate’
Raphael Saadiq – ‘The Way I See It’
Super Furry Animals – ‘Dark Days/Light Years’
TV On The Radio – ‘Dear Science’
Tinariwen – ‘Imidiwan: Companions’
White Denim – ‘Fits’
Wilco – ‘Wilco (The Album)’
Wild Beasts – ‘Two Dancers’
The xx – ‘xx’