Arctic Monkeys break UK album chart record

But they're pipped in singles battle

Arctic Monkeys‘Whatever People Say That I Am, That’s What I’m Not’ has tonight (January 29) become the UK’s fastest-ever selling debut album.

The LP topped the chart after racking up 363,735 sales in its’ first week. That now overtakes Hear’Say – 306,631 snapped up their ‘Popstars’ album in its’ first seven days onsale in March 2001.

The band, currently performing on the ShockWaves NME Awards tour, were stopped from claiming a double, though, when their new single ‘The Sun Goes Down’ fell from the Number One slot after a week, to be replaced by Notorious BIG, P Diddy and Nelly‘s ‘Nasty Girl’. And their previous chart-topper ‘I Bet You Look Good On the Dancefloor’ is still in the 40, going up a place to 22 this week.

The Ordinary Boys flew into the Top Ten – ‘Boys Will Be Boys’ is at Nine, getting to that position just two days after frontman Preston came Fourth on ‘Celebrity Big Brother’.

The singles Top Ten is:

1. Notorious BIG/P Diddy/ Nelly -‘Nasty Girl’

2. Arctic Monkeys – ‘The Sun Goes Down’

3. Beyonce ft Slim Thug – ‘Check On It’

4. Hi-Tack – ‘Say Say Say (Waiting 4 U)’

5. Will Young – ‘All Time Love’

6. Shayne Ward – ‘That’s My Goal’

7. Nizlopi – ‘JCB Song’

8. Sunblock – ‘I’ll Be Ready’

9. The Ordinary Boys – ‘Boys Will Be Boys’

10. A-Ha – ‘Analogue (All I Want)’

In the album chart, Richard Ashcroft enters below the Monkeys at Two with his new solo LP ‘Keys To The World’. Other new entries in the Ten come from Daniel O’Donnell at Five and Kooks at Nine.