Two former winners on Nationwide Mercury Prize shortlist

And a host of debut albums too

Last year’s winners Arctic Monkeys are on the shortlist for this year’s Nationwide Mercury Prize, putting them in with a chance of being the first act to win it twice in a row.

The band won in 2006 for debut album ‘Whatever People Say What I Am, That’s What I’m Not’. Their second LP ‘Favourite Worst Nightmare’ was among the 11 albums announced today (July 17) at The Hospital venue in central London.

Another former winner, Dizzee Rascal, is also on the list of 11 albums. The star will be hoping ‘Maths & English’ can repeat the success of ‘Boy In Da Corner’ back in 2003.

Other nominees include debut albums from Klaxons, Maps, Jamie T and The View.

At today’s announcement The View duo Kyle Falconer and Pete Reilly played an acoustic version of their hit ‘Superstar Tradesman’, while Fionn Regan performed ‘Good Or Be Gone’.

The full list of nominations are as follows:

Arctic Monkeys – ‘Favourite Worst Nightmare’

Klaxons – ‘Myths Of The Near Future’

Amy Winehouse – ‘Back To Black’

Maps – ‘We Can Create’

The View – ‘Hats Off To The Buskers’

Jamie T – ‘Panic Prevention’

Dizzee Rascal – ‘Maths & English’

Bat For Lashes – ‘Fur And Gold’

Young Knives – ‘Voices of Animals And Men’

Fionn Regan – ‘The End Of History’

New Young Pony Club – ‘Fantastic Playroom’

Basquiat Strings – ‘Basquiat Strings’

The Nationwide Mercury Prize winner for 2007 will be announced at a ceremony in London’s Grosvenor House Hotel on September 4.