Nationwide Mercury Prize shortlist set to be announced

Who do you think should be on it?

The shortlist for this year’s Nationwide Mercury Prize will be announced tomorrow (July 17) – and we want you to tell us who you think should be nominated.

Among the favourites to be on the list are previous winners Arctic Monkeys and Dizzee Rascal, while albums by Amy Winehouse, The Enemy, Klaxons, Maps, Candie Payne and Jamie T are also strongly tipped.

Below are a list of albums that we’ve put together in the NME.COM office that could be in contention – let us know who YOU think should be on the list come tomorrow, and let us know if we have left any out that you think are deserving of a nod.

The albums that we thought of are:

Candie Payne – ‘I Wish I Could Have Loved You More’

Jarvis Cocker – ‘Jarvis’

Jamie T – ‘Panic Prevention’

Arctic Monkeys – ‘Favourite Worst Nightmare’

Amy Winehouse – ‘Back To Black’

Klaxons – ‘Myths Of The Near Future’

Gruff Rhys – ‘Candylion’

Razorlight – ‘Razorlight’

Dizzee Rascal – ‘Maths & English’

Editors – ‘An End Has A Start’

The Cribs – ‘Men’s Needs, Women’s Needs, Whatever’

Maps – ‘We Can Create’

The Enemy – ‘We’ll Live And Die in These Towns’

The View – ‘Hats Off To The Buskers’

The Twang – ‘Love It When I Feel Like This’

Bat For Lashes – ‘Fur And Gold’

Cherry Ghost – ‘Thirst For Romance’

Kasabian – ‘Empire’

Mika – ‘Life In Cartoon Motion’

Patrick Wolf – ‘The Magic Position’

The Chemical Brothers – ‘We Are The Night’

Joss Stone – ‘Introducing Joss Stone’

1990s – ‘Cookies’

Kaiser Chiefs – ‘Yours Truly Angry Mob’

Calvin Harris – ‘I Created Disco’

Just Jack – ‘Overtones’

Send your suggestions to with Mercury as the subject and we’ll publish your thourghts.

Meanwhile NME.COM will have the official announcement on the shortlist tomorrow (July 16) from 11.30am onwards.